Unforgetable Ride, Unexpected Discovery


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
April 12th 2013
Published: April 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Nepali PaperNepali PaperNepali Paper

cottage industry on lokta paper
As we came down from Nagi Gompa Shivapuri Forest Reserves, my friend Surendra rode us to Nagarkot in his FZ Yamaha bought in 2008, using the shortcut he knew some twenty years ago, going up and down the terrains of some villages a couple of miles before Kathmandu. It was a big blow to us as the road had a landslide, generally being repair by the road works we had to divert to another direction to get to Kathmandu. After asking some people around, they showed us another way but not a better way, as we had to snake through the huge dumping river, the crows and the people scavenging through the rubbish dump, eagles high up in the sky looking for its prey, bypassed a pig sty which has “The Best Perfume“ ever produced in this area. I asked my friend, "How could these people built nice houses in this area?" He replied, "They like the smell" he chuckled. Going up and down on rough terrains, seems never ending, I could feel my brains juggling in my head about to exchange places with my butt, vice versa, my stiff knees were locked, felt the aching stiffness, whew! I just realized
Nepali PaperNepali PaperNepali Paper

close-up on lokta frames
I am old.

Before we head out to Kathmandu, we saw an area in a small village Chunikhel (In between Kathmandu, Shivapuri Forest Reserves and Gokarna, near Kapan Monastery, Kapan) filled with white washed canvas, hundreds of them, parked in rows like solar heaters were quite captivating. My friend told me it is the “Nepali Papers”. This is somewhat small scale, cottage industry and we did not have the time to see the process. It pleases me that I am able to take pictures from afar. It would be nice to witness the process and feel the papers first hand.

Nepali handmade paper is made from the inner bark of a wild shrub locally known as "Lokta" which is found at altitudes of 7,000 to 9,000 feet. The "Lokta Bush" has characteristics of re-growing again and again after pruning. The long fibrous handmade paper is prized for its attractive texture, its durability, strength and its resistance to insects. (Excerpts from the Internet)

Nepali Paper is made into albums, lanterns, gift boxes and it comes in various colors. It is a good buy, nice to own one, will be a great gift to friends and family. See for
Nepali PaperNepali PaperNepali Paper

employees doing the work
yourself in my earlier blog on Thamel, there is a picture of a shop displaying the Nepali Paper items.

Have a nice day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Nepali PaperNepali Paper
Nepali Paper

like solar heaters or awaiting the painters


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0943s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb