First Impressions of Kathmandu!!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
February 5th 2011
Published: February 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

First night in  KathmanduFirst night in  KathmanduFirst night in Kathmandu

This is our group on the first night in the restaurant in the Utse Hotel.
I know I've now been here for almost three weeks but I thought I'd share my first impressions of Kathmandu which sort of overwhelmed me on the first few days!!
1) Very noisy: the traffic is CRAZY - there don't seem to be any rules apart form the largest vehicle or the one with the loudest horn has right of way - so as a result there are always horns honking and policemen blowing their whistles. People also call to you as you walk by trying to tell you things.
2) When I first arrived the air quality was very noticable very bad - now I've got used to it. I initially thought it was very smelly!!
3) Very busy - people and cars and motorbikes and people riding bikes are everywhere - it is impossible to watch where you are going, look at the surroundings, watch your feet so you don't trip up, and look out for people driving into you.

Bear in mind that these were all my first impressions, and now I have definitely got used to it all and feel more comfortable walking around the city. It was also definitely a luxury coming back to Kathmandu
Kathmandu StreetKathmandu StreetKathmandu Street

One of the streets in Kathmandu
last weekend after the trek - we had a basin, and a hot shower!!

I'll talk about the trek in my next entry.

Last weekend when we came back to Kathmandu after the trek we visited a giant Buddhist stupa - it was so peaceful and beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Nepali RestaurantNepali Restaurant
Nepali Restaurant

Me, Alice and Callum at an upmarket Nepali restaurant where Basant (our representative) took us on the second night. It was really tasty!!
Big StupaBig Stupa
Big Stupa

Last weekend we visited this giant buddhist stupa. We went in the evening and it was so peaceful and beautiful.


3rd March 2011

thank you for sharing your story
thank you for sharing your story

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb