Lots of Travelling


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys,

I have been travelling alot since my last post. It has been very exciting, but i am now very tired.

After seeing the Taj Mahal in Agra. I took an overnight train to a city called Varanasi. The train took over 14 hours and broke down a couple of times but I was lucky enough to have a bed.

Varanasi was beautiful and is known as the holiest city in India. The river Ganges runs along side the city and is a very holy river. People do everything there: bathe, laundry, Drink, Pray and when someone dies, they are cremated on the river bank.

I have now crossed the border into Nepal. It is a beautiful country and the home of Mount Everest. Next week I will be trekking in the Himalayas around the Annapurna mountains. It will be cold as I go further up but, luckily I already have my winter coat!

A few days ago I visited Chitwan National Park. I went on an elephant safari and saw the endangered One Horned Rhino as well as Samber Deer and Langur Monkies. We didn't manage to see any Bengal Tigers though.

I have taken lots of photos but it's hard to upload them. I may have to post a disk to you all when I get a chance.

speak to you after my trek in 2 weeks.

Your friend, Thorny.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb