Gone but not gone, sort of . . .


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
May 4th 2008
Published: May 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Whitney trail campWhitney trail campWhitney trail camp

Just another morning in the best mountains in the world
Not even on the plane yet and already, lost, for words, anyway. Oh well, I'll find them or they'll find me--meanwhile, as Robert Frost might have said, bags to pack before I go and bags to pack before I go . . .

I'm here in San Francisco on a typical day that won't give in to either the sun or the clouds and the wind just blows it all around. It also looks like my gear has met a few gusts of wind--all over the place and I am left to wonder if I'll ever get it all in this one bag.

Speaking of one bag--I spent way too much cash for me on a big bag at REI, only to find (after stenciling my initials in it) that it's too small. The thought of spending even more has caused me to strangle certain arteries and orifice--so I walked down Clement street--the second Chinatown in SF--and to my delight, purchased almost the same bag for just ten bucks.

Almost the same bag, sure, but that zipper made a whole lot of difference and once I got my cheapo bag home, the zipper announced that it was not interested in being a zipper.

Luckily I had a few bucks still (or a few bucks in credit, still) and I needed another ride in the wind down to Sports Basement, so away I went and now, new bag ready, I stare into the chasm--what can I get in there?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb