Christmas in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
December 26th 2007
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

24-25-DEC-2007

It is Christmas Eve but it certainly does not feel like it. I opt to push the shower back another day because it will make it even more special being on Christmas. And besides, the water is not hot. I speak with Emma (the founder of VSN) about the prospect of switching families. After seeing how welcoming and sweet other families are, I will do whatever it takes- I am ready for a change. It will make my experience that much more meaningful.

Paul is dressed up as Santa in the office- I about have a heart attack due to shock upon seeing him. A bit unexpected. As such, he heaves a huge green sack of coats and winter hats for the Charity children down into the jeep. Many of the people do double takes along the way upon seeing Santa drive by in the front seat of a jeep. At the house, it is initially absolute mayhem so we try to initiate some semblance of order by having Santa see one child at a time. But there is 53 of them and this takes forever. Also, there is no way to know which coat sizes correspond to whom, so at the end of things we end up with a bunch of small coats and hats for large children and everyone is complaining. We hightail it out of there as soon as possible and promise to bring back larger coats.

For some reason, back at my house, I am treated to the best daal bhaat ever where hajuramma (grandmother) makes me eat about 10lb of rice pudding. I must admit, it is good, but that woman simply does not take no for an answer.

To make my surroundings a bit more festive, I set up red and green candles to make a shrine in my room and have something of my own little Christmas Eve service.

I wake up at 5am in order to make my Christmas as long as possible and go for an hour and a half morning walk. There is not even a hint of light in the sky until I am over halfway done. I am back well before daal bhaat and don my Santa hat and most festive clothing to celebrate. I escape before I am forced to eat anything and head into town to call the family and some
VSNVSNVSN

Volunteer Service of Nepal
of my favorites- so nice hearing from everyone!

At the office, Paul has created something of a den in the main room with cushions and chairs and couches scattered about in front of a large TV and heater. It is so cozy. Ben shows me his amazing photos from trekking the Annapurna Circuit, and my decision is made. I am using my extra time out here to go trekking and see some of the 8,000m peaks up close. The mountains are my playground.

We head to K-too for Christmas dinner at 1pm (early just like at Grandma's house!). They are so kind as to exclude the turkey from mine and only charge me half for to-die-for mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing and vegetables. I also indulge in egg nog and creme brulee because it is Christmas. I am so happy! We each receive blown glass Christmas ornament gifts from the head honcho restaurant owner- mine is a white tornado. I am so full my belly hurts.

We are not allowed to drink in the office so Kieran and I go for a liquor run and bring in water bottles. We are such rebels. Unfortunately, our adventure took a bit too long and we missed Secret Santa with everyone but open our gifts when we return. I receive an orange shawl that I will use as a lungi (bathing outfit) because it is ginormous! Kieran gets some awesome dog mittens that look like puppets. I need some. We are forced to watch this awful non-cartoon movie with talking cats and dogs. I simply cannot handle this type of humor. Fortunately, I am able to duck out early to call the Flying DeVilbii who are so excited with their Christmas care package I sent home! And yes, I am that loud girl shouting with excitement at the Internet place. I really could care less at the moment.

We meet up with the others at our usual place- Tom & Jerry's, where Kieran and I bring our own drinks to avoid the inflated prices. We join in at a DANCE OFF there and at Fire Club. When I finally decide to call it a night, I go for roadside noodles on a cart where the man gives me egg whites while I wait. I love egg whites!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb