Entry For A Cause


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
December 9th 2007
Published: December 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As I've mentioned, after finishing my trek, my plan for Nepal is to volunteer with an organization called Volunteers Initiative Nepal. For the full rundown, click here. But basically it's an organization based in Kathmandu that has a variety of projects...including an orphanage and other community projects for children and women - focused on health and education.

To get to the point...organizations like this (and the people it supports) can always benefit from some additional funding. If you're interested and would like to make a contribution, here's a chance to help out. Bhupi, the organization's founder and director, sent me this note in regards to the orphanage:

"Regarding donation collection, we are going to buy thermal trousers, high-neck, jumper, shoes, socks, gloves, scarfs etc. per child and there are about 41 children including FSP program. We are estimating 4000NRS Budget per child and we hope we will be able to raise, if everybody tries. They do not even have rice for this month and we are supplying 200kg rice and 25kg lentil daal which costs about 9000NRS."

We just purchased some blankets for them last week and, as you can see, are now working on other cold weather
Lined Up To Get New ThingsLined Up To Get New ThingsLined Up To Get New Things

Shown here...pillows
items. So to make it a bit easier...

Item 1: Clothing Package For 1 Orphanage Child - Rs4000 (approx US$63)
Item 2: 3 Day Supply of Food For Orphanage - Rs900 (approx US$14)

There are other needs...but I think this short list will suffice for now to get the point across.

Asking people for money is one of my least favorite things to do...but ignoring the needs of others is also on on that list. I also get annoyed by the teary-eyed Sally Struthers cheesy "for just $0.50 a day you can change a life" appeal. So without the lame emotional appeal...if this is something that interests you and you'd like to help make a difference for some Nepali kiddos...please let me know (shoot me an email or a message via the blog saying something like "I'd like to supply 1 unit of Item 1" or "I'd like to supply 2 units of Item 2" or simply "I'll give $xx") and we can arrange getting some funds transferred. It will likely just be a gig where you send me some money and I give it to Bhupi.

If you have questions about the finances and efficiencies of VIN, let me know what your specific questions are and I can try to answer. But in this case it's pretty much 100% efficiency. You give money to me...I take it out of the ATM...take it to the store with Bhupi...we buy things...and give to the children. There's not any loss along the way.

My final comment...yes, I'm primarily working at the monastery teaching English...not at the orphanage. But during my time here I will be involved in a variety of the projects, including the orphanage.

I'm here until the end of December...so the sooner the better.

Thanks for listening. Hopefully the appeal above combined with the photos will move you to donate. C'mon...all the cool kids are doing it...

Marc

Update (Dec 15) - As you can see in the photos, we've delivered much of the cold weather gear so far & they're all running around looking like smurfs in their new thermals. The full package includes over 20 items for each kid...and is making a big difference. Thanks to those who have donated so far. More donations are still welcome. Contact me.

Update (Jan 3) - Since I'm no longer in Nepal, the direct method of getting the money to Bhupi through me is no longer viable. But if you are still interested in giving, you can go do the VIN website and donate via PayPal. I believe there is a 5% charge or something like that, so it's not as efficient...but every penny still helps. Let me know if you have any questions.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Pemba & DineshPemba & Dinesh
Pemba & Dinesh

After having properly spelled their names for me with their new alphabet blocks.
More Joy From PillowsMore Joy From Pillows
More Joy From Pillows

Actually...the joy is probably more from me taking his photo...but whatever.
The Living QuartersThe Living Quarters
The Living Quarters

Basically thatch walls & less than 1/2 the number of beds are there are kids.
Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home

It's not actually this short...but it's dug into the side of this hill...giving the impression from this side that it's a chicken coup.
This Dude Finally SmiledThis Dude Finally Smiled
This Dude Finally Smiled

He looked straight up depressed the whole time we were there until Marie got him smiling...and then I reaped the benefits by having my picture with him smiling.
Dance PartyDance Party
Dance Party

We finished off the day by dancing outside for 20 minutes or so. A bunch of Nepali orphans and 3 giant white people dancing drew quite a crowd from passers-by.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb