A soft new pillow


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
November 12th 2007
Published: November 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

10-NOV-2007
Only the little ones were left at the home in the morning for the health checks, as the older kids were involved in yet another Rupee-earning performance. After handing out meds, I stopped by Steve's (where he wasn't exactly feeling his best) and handed off the med kit to take care of the performing kids once he was feeling up to it.

I hiked all the way to Durbar Square, taking about 1.5h, since it was such a beautiful day and there were so few vehicles on the road- no exhaust to fight- bonus! I was so happy that I could breathe fresh air, it instantly set the mood for the day. I picked up two fresh warm rotis at a shop right outside town to hold me over (only 10 Rupees!). I continued, and as if I'd done it a million times before, walked directly into Durbar Square along the SE end of town. I just passed through, since I was eager to start on my shoes and pillow mission. And I picked up a Cadbury chocolate on the way to the mall just because I heard it calling to me.

After finally arriving at the mall, I visited every single store that sold shoes (about half of them) on my Puma and hiking shoe escapade. Turns out that stores only have one pair of each style, so if it's not your size, you're out of luck. Seems as though my feet are larger than most, so I was out of luck until the very last store in the mall where I found the Puma's (in my size!) I'd been eyeing up throughout my mall adventure. I also managed to pick up some super comfortable hiking shoes (in sharp contrast to those I brought from home). I am absolutely clueless of the brand since the tag in the sole is in Chinese, but they seemed pretty nice so I went for it. Pumas $19, hiking shoes $26- how exciting! To celebrate, I purchase a cofee ice cream cone upon exiting the mall. As I'm walking N back towards town along Ratna Park (Kathmandu's Central Park in the middle of the action), I spot beautiful snow capped mountains framing the valley. Could things get any better? I'm sure I had a bit of a skip to my step.

(Insert Jesus choir here). Lo and behold, I run into a little linens shop where I scooped up the softest pillow in Nepal- horray! And I didn't even attempt to bargain down the $5 because I needed that thing so badly. I also picked up some more beautiful beaded necklaces to add to my collection from a 3' x 3' shop in Indra Chowk. Why not? What a great day!

I ran into Steve when I returned home and showed him my treasures. He promptly announced that he needed a shopping excursion as well and that the sickness had passed for the meantime. Nothing but upside!

I also showed my shopping purchases to my Aama, and offered to get her a long beaded necklace of her favorite color. She's been nice to me ever since- score!

11-NOV-2007
The kids were all about in the morning, so we were able to get the health business out of the way first thing. One of the boys is experiencing pain down there but refuses to apply the medicine we give him. He keeps telling us that it hurts but I'm nto sure what he expects us to do about it since he's refusing meds. I do feel bad for the little guy.

After shopping close-by for some bracelets for Steve's sisters, I headed home for Tika time. I watched a ceremony set outside next to the house where a circle was formed with some equivalent to holy water, followed by the application of cooking oil on top of where the water had been sprinkled. There was a large fruit that sticks had been punched into to, as well as three burning incense sticks. A tin pallette held powdered colors, and there was another dish of rice that had been dyed red. A second pitcher held water and fresh flowers and there was a tray holding hand-threaded flower leis. It was Brothers and Sisters Day of Tihar, so brothers and sisters are to apply a tika to one another's forehead seated in the middle of the circle.

The tikas here were much different than those applied during Dashain. For these, a yellow adhesive bit was applied in a vertical line down your forehead. Then, each powdered color in the pallette was applied on top of the adhesive, forming something of a rainbow down your forehead. Finally, the red rice of Dashain was applied above this rainbow line, and you are adorned with a flower lei. It might be nice to know the significance of all this.

I was then provided two round and two flat rotis! They were tasty, but of course very greasy and instantly put me to sleep. After walking about the area for a bit under the toasty sun, I had to give in and get a bit of shut-eye. I managed to keep the tika in pristine condition! After tasty evening daal bhaat, Steve came over and I seranaded him as he tried to guess what I was singing. Word's going around that I'm not the best singer. Bullocks.

I am so surprised that I'm beginning to tolerate the daal bhaat so well now. Sometimes, to the delight of my family, I even have seconds! The pickle is quite tasty. So glad that things are working out on this front.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb