Breakfast at Helena's (Thamel)


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having breakfast at the rooftop of Helena's in Thamel was introduced to me by my Sri Lankan friend, Deneth. It is one of the most popular restaurant in the area and they serve a variety of breakfast choices. Oh well the food is really far from divine but the view of the "monkey temple" certainly is. It is popular among tourists and there are 4 floors (if my memory serves me right) and each floor has its own kitchen, I suppose to save the crew from the exhalarating stairs.

Every visit I would always order for the scrambled egg, toasted, bread bacon, black coffee breakfast set. A combo they can do best and the fastest. I once ordered pancakes and it took them so long to make and it tasted and felt like eating rubber bands. But the food is secondary, the reason why I and most of my friends head for Helena's rooftop is to see Thamel waking up, to shrug off the chill of winter with a dose of morning sun and exchanging 'good mornings' with fellow travellers, who looks cool with their backpacks, some busy reading a map if not a newspaper and some just chilling, looking around with a ready smile to strike up a conversation hoping to get tips and about the do's and dont's in Nepal.

If you want to see some images of Kathmandu/Nepal, view my flickr site, www.flickr.com/photos/frames_of_gale


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb