Namche - Thamo. The mystic trek


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Himalayas
April 22nd 2013
Published: April 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

The weather in Sagarmatha national park is colder than in previous years. When we just came to Namche, it was warm and sunny but it didn't last long. A few days already it’s raining, snowing and clouds are climbing up the hills, sometimes covering everything with fog.

But if you think I’m disappointed with it – you are wrong 😊 I like this kind of weather, because it makes easy to bring back the memories of the time when I didn’t yet go to school. I can’t remember what exactly I was doing then, maybe playing in the yard, but I do remember that feeling of serenity and mystery I had in such weather. Mist gives a feeling of tranquility and a bit of a fairy-tale. There are no duties or obligations, nowhere to hurry, and I can just take the pleasure of walking and looking around, finding something beautiful, like a water drop hanging from a leaf. And there was sort of a background feeling that the world is full of unknown and enigmatic things.

I’m sure everyone has experience of feeling something very pleasant in “bad” weather. Why feel gloomy or annoyed or depressed? It’s so easy to recollect that pleasant feelings and start to enjoy life right now. We are just used to thinking of rain and fog as bad weather – it’s no more than a habit that can be changed. Why spoil your holiday by bad mood? Why not look around and experience all this mystic atmosphere instead?

Here are the photos I took yesterday while having a walk. There are so many blooming rhododendrons now in the mountains. It was snowing slightly but the snowflakes melted as soon as they touched the ground. I had a bit surrealistic feeling looking at flowers through falling snow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

IMG_3304IMG_3304
IMG_3304

This photo was taken the day before
IMG_1629IMG_1629
IMG_1629

using a narrow side path I walked down into the canyon


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb