Day #14 - Lobuche to Gorak Shep Pt 1


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Himalayas
November 29th 2012
Published: December 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It was a very early start for the trek to Gorak Shep - mainly on account of the fact that our guide wanted us to reach Gorak Shep to have a chance of also summiting Kala Pattar and reaching Everest Base Camp on the same day - a feat not many attempt and achieve.

We received our customary wakeup call from the guides at 0430, with a bowl of warm water for "washy washy". I was already awake at that time, with a mild headache and a degree of nausea. Breakfast was served at around 0500, and all I could stomach was a couple of mouthfuls of porridge and a Worthingtons original sweet (from my sweet stash). There heater in the dining room gave little in the way or warmth and the atmosphere was very subdued.

Kitted out in my head torch, my warmest clothing - 6 layers, trekking poles, day sacks and water, I traipsed outside to begin the walk to Gorak Shep. The night sky was clear and lit by stars and moonlight. There were no other sounds - not even a dog barking, or a Yak bell, something I had become accustomed to as part of the daily morning dawn chorus. It was very cold outside, and my watch overnight had registered -4 degrees in my room that night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb