Are we there yet?


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Annapurna
May 6th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Deurali PassDeurali PassDeurali Pass

Our first stop on the trek. There is a nice view to either side.
My journey into the Annapurna Sanctuary began Saturday, May 3rd. I walked and walked, passing through villages and curving around mountain sides. I had no idea where we were going other than words on a map. I just knew there was a stone path, many stairs and Muna (my guide) was going to keep me on the straight and narrow whenever I wavered.

some days I needed all the help I could get



Climbing to 4,100 meters is not a simple feat. The Nepali have taken to heart the saying that the shortest distance between two points is a straight line. In this case, a straight line of stone steps and paths running up and down which connect neighboring villages.

There were many moments of going straight up, only to hike straight back down the other side of a 'hill' in order to cross a river and then go straight up the next hill to a lower elevation. It made me feel a little crazy and I actually despaired on day three, wondering if I had made a huge mistake by taking this on. I searched for inspiration and strength to continue, and got really present to the
Muna My Fearless Guide!Muna My Fearless Guide!Muna My Fearless Guide!

Resting a bit while I snap away.
privilege of being immersed in beauty and having the grace, ease, strength and well-being to be able to start and complete this journey into the Himalaya. I was moved to tears and sat down on the edge of the trail and let it all out.

When I say let it out, I'm talking about GRATITUDE. Everything in my life I was thankful for came flooding into my mind and soul. SO POWERFUL.

We walked in silence



Trekking is like meditation. Nothing is everything. I looked for a mental space where I could escape what was happening physically, absorb my surroundings, and leave the mental noise. At first I thought two weeks of walking would mean reflecting on life and deciding what my next steps will be. In reality, it left me feeling physically exhausted and mentally fresh as I spent most of the day in the zone. I loved it.

While walking, we would stop in a village along the way for tea or lunch. In the early afternoon, we would reach our destination for the night and I would shower (when possible), have a late lunch or snack, and relax for the rest of the day. I would write, try to find a nearby view, talk to other trekkers and even take an occasional nap. Bed time was often 8pm and I would pretend to read before falling asleep. On a normal day, wake up was 6am but on a sunrise view day we were getting up at 5am in order to catch the first rays.

It was BEAUTIFUL!! Enjoy the pictures. I've made separate entries to help separate the sections of the journey. Here are some photos from our way up to Annapurna Base Camp. The first 5 days.




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

River CrossingRiver Crossing
River Crossing

Typical bridge construction found throughout the foothills
Grain MillGrain Mill
Grain Mill

This mill uses water runoff from a stream to keep turning and grind the grain for the whole village
Up, up, up, upUp, up, up, up
Up, up, up, up

The climb to Chomrong from Sinuwa
StairsStairs
Stairs

Stone steps are everywhere
Holy MountainHoly Mountain
Holy Mountain

A small spot to make offerings to local gods for protection
First GlimpseFirst Glimpse
First Glimpse

I walked for days with no appreciation of where I was heading. There's actually something over there.
UnfurledUnfurled
Unfurled

Plant life
Early afternoonEarly afternoon
Early afternoon

1pm fog and rain
Work JourneyWork Journey
Work Journey

Porters are heading down with empty baskets after having just delivered sundries to MBC
AnnapurnasAnnapurnas
Annapurnas

First clear look at the Annapurna peak
Over my shoulderOver my shoulder
Over my shoulder

Looking south from Deurali #2
Machhapuchhre RangeMachhapuchhre Range
Machhapuchhre Range

Clear morning peak
TricklesTrickles
Trickles

Water is just starting to roll down from the melting snows
Back ThereBack There
Back There

Climbing through the valley en route to MBC and ABC


Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb