Mongolia


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia
October 19th 2013
Published: October 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Crossing the Russian/Mongolian border took a long time. In total it was 7 1/2 hours of waiting at a train station in Russia before we could enter Mongolia. This was so the border control officers could check that we were allowed to enter the country.

Firstly, we travelled to the countryside to a local get camp - Mongolian natives live here. I have to say that the experience was overwhelming.

The scenery was breathtaking but what really astounded me was the local people's sense of community spirit. We visited a local family where they made us some traditional food. They made us feel so welcome. They don't have much compared to us and they live in very confined areas (one room for the whole family) but they are so happy and thankful for what they have got.

After visiting the local family we went horse riding For a whole two hours. Mrs.Hankins and Miss Waterland: you would have been proud of some of the moves I was able to pull off for my first time riding!

Mongolia really surpassed everything I thought it was going to be and more. After visiting here it really made me question what do we really need in life to be happy?


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



22nd October 2013

Breathtaking Mongolia
I loved to stay in a Ger Camp
2nd November 2013

So jealous!
I'm so jealous of you, riding native Mongolian ponies, I would truly love to do that. Well I would if I was younger and fitter!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb