Altitude: 10,000M - Location: Hmmm??


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
December 6th 2010
Published: December 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Finally have had a chance to sit and type an entry – it’s currently Monday afternoon (day 2) and we’re in the air over Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia as we make our way from Korea to Germany. (Although who would know – the world outside is a foggy expanse of mist and late afternoon sunset). Trying to type one-handed on Nat’s iPod while listening to a bit of Black Joe Lewis (who I might add is one of the funkiest dudes around – check it out if you like some old school funk or soul tunes). Currently doing it tough – asked for another Jack Daniels but they’ve run out. Will have to slum it with the other peasants and make do with the 12 year old Chivas the lovely young lass brought instead! (Seriously folks – Korean Air is the bees knees of air travel). Anyway, this gold class liquor has distracted me (and you) long enough from the task at hand.

Our trip started early Sunday morning with an 8:20am flight to Incheon, Korea. Thankfully Kay & Rothy slept over Saturday night and drove us to the airport. After some last minute packing, door checking & a snappy cuppa, we were on our way. All was going swimmingly at the airport up until the customs screening when I made an off-hand remark re being careful with a bag because of the wine bottles. Well obviously there’s no such thing as a wine bottle under 100ml (the max allowable for carry-on) so back we go to the check-in counter to offload my day-pack. Nat and I both sacrificed our jumpers to wrap the wine (and beer) bottles in the hope they would survive the trip. I just hope that we will survive the cold with a layer down. Flight to Korea was great except Kohen is sick and listless. Some dosing up from mum’s cunning kit at least ensured he got some sleep on the flight. Finally arrived at Incheon airport looking forward to the 5 star luxury that is the Hyatt Regency (where we have stayed while transiting to Europe in the past). Unfortunately, as Nat pointed out from the vouchers we got at Incheon, the Hyatt would have to remain a distant memory – we were headed for, wait for it.... The Paradise Hotel. Now, when I see a place named like this, I get a bit dubious. The good news though was that our adventure had begun.

To set the scene properly, I must digress briefly into Korean geography. Incheon airport is, despite the name, a good half hour to 45 minutes out of Incheon city. The airport is on an island of partly, if not completely, reclaimed land in the Harbour and joined to the mainland by massive bridges – I’m talking kms long. The Hyatt is out on the same island, so we’ve never ventured any further than this before. So, anyway, we hop on the bus to “Paradise” – check out the lovely curtains (I’m getting more apprehensive by the minute at this stage). Kohen was still unwell but put on a brave face for the photo.

Nevertheless, it was with a real sense of excitement that we departed the 5 star but rather sterile environment of Yeongjong-Yongyu Island for the gritty reality of downtown (mainland) Incheon.
Alright – so the Paradise was a little older and carried its share of battle wounds, but it was fine, and more importantly, clean. Kohen ate hardly any of his dinner and was not going well, so we got up to the room asap and put him to bed. Nat also went to bed and I decided to check out Incheon and give our new camera a test run. Funnily enough the first area I came across was Chinatown. Perhaps it’s just my own ignorance of Asian cultures, but a Chinatown in Korea struck me like having a New Zealand-town in Australia. Anyway, continued on in my search for some cool neon streetscapes to photograph, when I came across the very beautiful Jayu Park in central Incheon. Like most Asian gardens it focused on the journey and discovery of new things with its twisting and intriguing pathways as I wound my way upwards to the high-point of Incheon and the park. It was at this point that I found myself at the U.S.-Korea monument built in 1982 to commemorate the centennial of the Amity and Trade Treaty between Korea and the U.S. – what a great structure to photograph (especially at night). Enjoyed exploring the park further and was busy photographing a clock-tower when I heard a shy female voice saying “hello”. To my extreme embarrassment, I realized she had said hello multiple times whilst I was in blissful ignorance. Anyway, I chatted for a while despite her very limited English and my non-existent Korean. What a lovely country with folks willing to engage with obvious strangers despite, in this case, quite a language barrier. Finally got some other shots of Korean neon signage and docklands near the hotel before calling it for day one. The next morning was uneventful (bit cold -3 degrees) and we headed back to the Airport for the next leg to Frankfurt. Will post again from Europe, if the fingers do not seize up! Bye for now,
Lincoln, Natalie & Kohen
PS – my little mate is up and about again on the plane after a kip on the floor. Seems to be doing OK, but still not 100%. Will rug him up and hopefully a good nights sleep will restore him in Frankfurt.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb