Disco anyone?


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
April 10th 2008
Published: April 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I discovered that Mongolians love The Beatles as in the UB Post (an English newspaper) I read that they are planning on constructing a Beatles memorial of some kind. Very interesting... people also refer to clubs as "Discos" and I can't help but picture bell-bottoms and afros in my mind :-)

Last night I got home from work and was very tired and went to lie down. Then I slapped myself and made myself get up and go out on the street because I know that if I keep doing that, I'll never acclimate to the time here. So I went walking to find the state department store and on the way I found an Art and Antiques shop. The art was absolutely amazing and tho some was a bit pricey (the ones that were framed) I was able to find a very nice oil painting of a Mongolian landscape. This one is not framed which will make it much easier to transport on the way home. I also found a rather amusing carving of a Dromedary Camel with what looks like a mouse or a marmot or something perched on its second hump. There were also lots of what were obviously very old artifacts that I would not even consider buying as customs can get quite touchy about people transporting their ancient goods (and why shouldn't they!?) So this is a place I could potentially spend a bunch of money so I must avoid it now that I have a couple items from it.

I also stopped by a market and found a freezer bag of what looks like processed bortz, or meat stuffed in a pastry. I think I'll return there and buy some and perhaps eat some tonight. Maybe it will have mutton in it :-)

Work is going very well and I am meeting Zaya today at 5o'clock. I will ask her where the state dept store is as I never did find it, having been distracted by the art place. I also want to take some more pictures so I will bring my camera along and see if Zaya will let me snap a photograph of her.

Well that's all for now, I'm off to the apartment to lounge about before I go and meet Zaya. Hope you are all well and healthy!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb