Mutton is on the menu!


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Terelj
June 22nd 2011
Published: June 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trans Mongolian Train

Here it is a very rough overview of the route I have taken on the train.

Additional maps: South America

LookoutLookoutLookout

View of the city of Ulaan Bataar
Ulaan Bataar, the capital of Mongolia is a mish match of modern buidings and skyskrapers with very few citizens still trying to hold onto their old culture with having their gers set up in between modern houses.

The roads are totally conjested most of the day and there is no driving etiquette, it's every man for themselves here and that includes the pedestrians.

In the 2 days I spent in the city I have seen museums, went to a monastery & seen monks chanting, been to a Mongolian song & dance ensemble, see enough pictures and carvings of Ghengiss Khan, had a very good English breakfast and more dumplings than on any chinese menu and a good few beers at one 5 of the Irish pubs here in the city. Oh, and we were shown round a cashmere factory, which was quite an eye opener, only jumpers here, no beers.

Not only was I in the city but we spent some time out in Terelj National Park whcih is about 75km out of the city. There we stayed in a traditional ger, I got dressed up in all the garb, met a traditional Mongolian family and had afternoon
Ghenges KhanGhenges KhanGhenges Khan

A very small statue to their hero and icon
tea with them, went for a few walks (not with the family) then it was off to a temple of enlightenment. Still not enlightened after the visit.

One thing I have to say, I am so sick of mutton now, I smell of it and I can continually taste it, Yuk!! Infact everything seems to come with mutton. I have to say I am not liking their food here. Take me back to that cafe with the English breakfast.

Regardless, of the mutton I already have a list of things I want to do when i come back here, the whole experience was a very different one but I never came here with any pre-conceptions. I believe the reason to come to Mongolia is for the culture and vast landscape, definitely not for it's culinery delights. Oh, never got to try the aerag, apparently it's too early, so another reason to come back.

Tomorrow, it's back on the train for 36 hours this time to Beijing. Not sure when I will be able to get back on to up-date the blog as there seems to be an issue with certain websites out there, facebook being one of
EnlightenmentEnlightenmentEnlightenment

Still looking for it and still not enlightened. Mmm.
them. due to the communist regime it is banned.

So thanks for following the blog so far and will up-date ASAP.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Turtle Rock, TereljTurtle Rock, Terelj
Turtle Rock, Terelj

Big me, little rock!
Tea with the localsTea with the locals
Tea with the locals

We are friends on facebook now.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb