Gorkhi-Terelj National Park


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Terelj
June 18th 2006
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I like these signsI like these signsI like these signs

Gobi is 600km away!
Having been to Terelj last year, we did not plan to come here again, but to catch an overnight train from UB to Beijing. We didn't realise that the train departing from UB today was the Siberia line, and pre-booking was impossible. After much trying by Puujee, he still couldn't get the tickets for us. So we were left with the only choice, i.e. to take a flight to Beijing. And since we were to take a plane, we can afford one more day in Mongolia, and the natural choice was of course to head to Terelj.

Terelj is the best place to relax after 2 weeks of travelling the rugged terrain of the country. It is not very far from Ulaan Bataar, about an hour's drive. Terelj is a place of magnificent scenery, with vast green fields littered with wild flowers and rocks formation. It's great for hiking, horse-riding, and go looking for precious stones, which have been mined there for over a hundred years.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

See how far I can shoot...See how far I can shoot...
See how far I can shoot...

The round ger-like wooden houses in the background are the guest rooms we stayed. They are quite comfortable.
Let me try my new toyLet me try my new toy
Let me try my new toy

Scaled down version of an archery set bought from UB State Department Store


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1mb