Onwards from japan


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
September 13th 2010
Published: September 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We left japan for Singapore just under two weeks ago now. We flew with Singapore airlines and they were great, they gave us hagan dazz for dessert so I was really happy and o evengot them to make me a Singapore sling. We arrived singapore about three in the morning but managed to get to our hostel quite easily. We stayed in little India which was a lot different to the rest of the city. We were not overly keen on the hostel itself as the bathros were not cleaned regularly and it stank of sweat and chicken however I guess we were lucky as I met a german girl in Malaysia and she got over 500 bites grim bed bugs in her hostel. I quite liked singapore, you could see the British influence in the city and there was loads of british shops. It was quite clean and there were lots of interesting neighbourhoods. We ate the best food I have had yet there. We went to a food hall for lunch where I had nasi goreng and a coffee for about £1.30 and in the eve we got reccommended to go to an Indian where you point at the food you want and then it gets delivered to you on a banana leaf. I had a mixture of vegi stuff and rice and poppadoms which was mire spicy than we get back home but it was good and I has a coke and it cost about £2.50- excellent stuff. From Singapore we crossed the boarder into Malaysia and went on a six hour journey to tioman island off the south east coast. We made friends with a girl from brighton who was travelling with her Australian friends and a couple of ditch girls, we hung out together when we were there and went on a snorkeling trip together and hired out a boat and a driver. I had never snorkelld before and am not too keen on swimming in the sea so didn't really know what to expect and when the guy stopped the boat in the middle of the ocean and said we were going to swim around this small island I thought shit not sure if I could do it. Anyway I gaffes around putting on my flippers and mask and a life jacket for safe measures and set of. The boat dude and the two Dutch girls (who had already done a lot of diving) sped off quite fast and I thought god I need to go faster whilst trying not to choke on the water that had gotten into my mask. I eventually after a couple of minutes managed to get the hang of just breathing with my mouth and looking down below me whilst also swimming and started to enjoy what I was doing. After going about half way the guy stopped and we realised that jim and the other two girls were not with us I then felt quite proud that I had managed to keep up an realised o wasn't such a bad swimmer. I absolutely loved the snorkelling, we went to four different places and I saw turtles really close as well. Tiger reed sharks that were quite big and lots of colourfull fish. It is so cool as you really feel like your entering another world. I'm def going to do it again on the next island. J I'm and I initially only booked four nights but ended up staying seven because we had a couple of lovely chalets over looking the ocean and it was really laid back, I've never been somewhere so chilled out. The weather wasn't great the whole time but we had enough sun for me to get burnt and am now peeling. We saw some enormous monitor lizards and lots of wild monkeys. We eventually decided to move on and got the bus to kualar lumpur. O can't be bothered to write about that now so will include it in my next instalment.

Hope everyone is ok love Simone x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb