Back to China: Malaysia II


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
August 19th 2009
Published: August 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From Australia I have to make my way back to study MBA in China.

After almost 6 months in Australia I had to plan the next leg of my travel. My Australia visa was running out and low cost airline have good deal if you plan in advance. So at the beginning of July I start looking for flight to Asia and I found a good deal at the beginning of august for Kuala Lumpur (KL). I also booked a flight from KL to Laos thinking I could make my way to China.

I contacted some CS (couchsurfing) friends in KL and I planned to meet them. I started to advertise my Van on forum but the Australian winter is not the best time to sell a van to backpacker. I am not in a hurry and I arranged with friends to take care of the Van and I continue to publish it on the web. Hopefully it will be easier to sell as spring come in Australia.

I arrived in KL august 5th and met with 2 german girls and their friends (Marinan, Theresa, Regina, Rahel) and we went to Pangkor island for the weekend. Rachel came to meet us during the weekend. I forgot that Malaysia is very hot and humide. It was just in the hight 20C but felt like ++30C It's was hard to walk in the street of KL so the Island was a very good plan.

During the week in KL, I spent time with Marina and Theresa visiting KL trying Malaysian, Indian food and going to pub, bar and terraces at night. I also joined some CS activities: movie night and a pot luck near the zoo. I also went to visit Kemplar park outside KL.I also was trying to get my Chine visa which was not that easy...for some unknown reason. Finally I got a tourist visa not a student visa...we will se how the uni will change this status.

I spend a week and a half in KL sorting out things, visiting a bit and meeting peoples. After Pangkor island I couchsurf at Rachel place for more that a week.

Plans to go to Laos changed as I was reading about Laos and after experiencing few tropical storm in KL. I found out that July and August were the 2 most raining month in Laos with 3000mm annually. So I changed my plan and decided to travel to Singapore and from there Bali august 21th-Singapore august 28th-Taiwan august 30th. For Taiwan I have to find a way to go back to mainland china...few months ago I would have to swim but now there are some alternative since the two countries have agree to establish direct flights very recently.

There are few think I thing I have miss in Malaysia. Because of the time limited time I had (5days) to get from KL to Singapore. I play it safe and went to Melaka for few days and Singapore to catch my flight. But July and August are the raining season in many place of asia but east cost of Malaysia is the best time to go perhensian island, Tioman, Endau Rompin National Park. After reading a bit there are some ferry service from Tioman to Singapore, Tioman to Melaka is only 4 hours by bus so there was some possibilites for me with only 5 days to travel the east coast if I knew the transport possibilites....I plan too much and don't ask enought informations...

I enjoyed Melaka for 3 days. I met with Binz and her friends for diner. I met a Dutch guy visiting Melaka and 2 other couchsurfers from Mexico and France were in contact with Binz and comming to visit Melaka. So I had a great time here. Also I had some time to write this blog...

Keep you informed about Bali and Taiwan


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb