Todd & Reety Do Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Published: March 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

So May 2015 was my beautiful fiancé's first experience of Asia. Our plan was Kuala Lumpur for a couple of days followed by Cambodia and Thailand.

We arrived in Kuala Lumpur after a long trip from Mount Gambier to Melbourne by car then a 9 hour flight.

We caught a train from the airport into Sahabat Guesthouse at Bukit Bintang and spent our first day exploring despite being exhausted. It was Todds first train ride in almost 30 years! LolWe freshened up at the Guesthouse before heading off for lunch at my all time favourite Dragon-i in Pavillion Shopping centre. With our eyes bigger than our stomach we overordered and ate until we almost burst.

Afterwards we went shopping. I stopped in at Sephora and started shopping up a storm. Being overtired I completely stuffed up my conversion rate with Thailand baht. What I thought was going to cost me around $15 was actually $150! I have no idea what I was thinking but realised right before I handed over the money thankfully, cancelled my sale and fled with my tail between my legs.

We grabbed a foot massage (converting Todd to liking foot massages in the process) before eating dinner at Jalan Alor. I must say it was probably the worst meal I have had at Jalan Alor but our highlight was the most amazing icecream stall ever! We went back for 2nds it was that good.

The following day we decided to explore KL by foot so set off early in search of breakfast. We ended up at Old Town White Coffee in Pavillion where Todd had a toilet emergency and experienced his first squat toilet. He survived but nonetheless was still traumatised!

After breakfast we used skytrain and train to visit Chinatown and do the Petrona Towers tour before heading to Skybar at Traders for sunset drinks. We then walked around the park near Petrona before heading back to Bukit Bintang for dinner settling on the food court at Lot 10. After dinner completely exhausted we crashed early ready to head to Cambodia the following day.

Waking early we headed out for breakfast at Old Town again before purchasing some Kaya at Lot 10 to take to Cambodia. We then headed to the airport.

A few hours later we landed in Phnom Penh, Cambodia..... stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb