Feet Eating Fish & Crazy Bus Drivers... Welcome to Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur » Bukit Bintang
October 21st 2009
Published: October 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye Australia



Soooo I left Narelle in Brisbane and set off for the Gold Coast to stay with Dan and Shannon before flying out the next morning.. Shannon picked me up from the train station and we just chilled at home until Dan came home and cooked us dinner! Mmmmm thanks Dan!! I tried to make a 5th night drinking but was struggling so let Dan polish off all the wine instead! An early night was had, as I had to be up by 5.30am to get to the airport for my early flight.. I was pretty nervous about flying long haul with Air Asia after my last flight, but was completely impressed by the whole experience...

Air Asia Rocks



I seriously cannot recommend Air Asia for long haul flights between Australia and South East Asia... I bagged Seat 15K which wasnt considered a $40 leg room seat (but should have been) and I settled in for a really comfortable flight. I was at the emergency exit which had a bit sticking out that I could put my feet up on... I had noone sitting next to me in the two seats and for $10 I got an on-demand tv that came out from the middle of my seat! It was awesome.. I settled in to watch two movies, listened to some music, played a few online games and even got to try out their chat function where you can go into chat rooms with other people on the plane OR even contact people in other seats for private chats! I was very tempted to go find a hot boy then stalk him via a chat session! Hehehehe. I met a couple of people who I ended up chatting with in person during the flight.. great way to meet people during the flight if you are by yourself!! LOL

The food and drinks were great and cheap and it was a really smooth takeoff/landing.. fair bit of turbulence about halfway through the flight but 4 valium later I was fine! Hehehehehe! The flight took off and landed on time and for $250 return you really cannot justify spending 5 times that amount to fly with other airlines! It was as impressive as the rest in my opinion!

Malaysia Surprises Me



I arrived in Kuala Lumpar and exited the airport.. I could see my hotel in the distance (Tune Hotel .. owned by Air Asia) and was tossing up whether to walk or get a shuttle bus.. I walked towards where the shuttle buses were located and asked a guy which bus would take me there.. He laughed and said "you walk.. it just there" ... making me feel like a lazy cow!! I asked if I could take my trolley the whole way to which he replied yes so I decided to save my pride and walk! Halfway there I got to a large set of steps... bugger! I would have to carry my bags!!!! By the time I got to the hotel 10 minutes later I was dripping with sweat and cursing the guy at the bus stop!!

I quickly checked in and decided to head into the city for a meal and a quick look around. My room at Tune is TINY.. it hardly fits the bed in it! LOL but for $30 and a quick stopover I dont really need anything else! I caught a shuttle bus back to the airport and jumped on the Air Asia shuttle bus for $3 which took me straight to the city KL Sentral bus station... lets just say the driving though left alot to be desired... the plan was then to get a taxi from there to a food court that Narelle had recommended in the Bukit Bintang area, but when I asked the lady at the taxi meter stand for a taxi she told me 'no no you go by sky train' ... I was like... hmmm ok... which way?! She goes "you go that way and then turn right"... Ok I can do this.. feeling brave I followed her instructions but got to an intersection where I was like "NOW WHAT!!!"... I looked to my right again and saw what looked like a sky train line so I headed in that direction... I found it and couldnt believe how easy it was to work out where to go!

Once at Bukit Bintang I asked another person where this place was located... they again gave me the 'that way' vague direction... I wandered aimlessly for a bit before asking a random dude on the street who pointed in another direction and said 'that way'... hmmm this was getting interesting... about 10 minutes later i stumbled across it! I was becoming super impressed with my independence and navigational skills!

I ended up at i-Dragon in a mall that Narelle had recommended... and the food was to die for.. I over-ordered of course and had Shanghainese Soup Dumplings which were tiny dumplings with soup and meat INSIDE them.. sooooo good. After I polished those off, I had some .... noodles which are hand spun noodles. I had them fried with seafood and they were to die for! THEN I had crispy roast duck (such a sucker when duck is on a menu)... when it came out though it was massive and was served with all the peking duck condiments... the duck was the BEST duck the skin was sooo crispy yet the meat was melt in the mouth tender! I couldnt eat it all but loved every mouthful....


Random Fish Reflexology




After finishing dinner I headed back to my dogbox... about halfway to the monorail station, I saw a sign that caught my attention... fish reflexology... I stopped to take a closer look and a lady approached me... she showed me a price list and I was in! She led me into a shop where I was given a spa menu.. I decided to go for the fish reflexology and massage for a grand total of $30 - why not!!

I was led to a fish tank that was full of little fish and told to sit there with my feet in the water... as soon as I put my feet in the fish started nibbling at my feet... it was the weirdest feeling and I was sooo ticklish... after about 10 minutes I managed to stop laughing... then I was told it was 'big fish' time! I was led to another area where I had to put my feet in with the big fish... I was slightly nervous but stuck my feet in and proceeded to let about 200 fish nibble away at my feet!

There were 3 Indians in there at the same time and the two girls couldnt handle it so they got out.. the guy moved over to where I was sitting and started chatting to me.. asking if he could get a photo with me... He explained that he was there with his sisters and it was their first trip out of India... he asked if he could have his photo taken with me then told me if I was ever to come to India I could come stay with his family in Mumbai and we swapped email addresses! Hilarious!

After the fish had eaten all the dead skin off my feet I was led into a room and had a back massage.. divine! Once finished I headed back to KL Sentral just in time to catch the last bus back to my hotel. By the time the bus departed it was belting down rain. I have never been so scared in my life... well that might be an exaggeration butit was pretty damn scary.... the bus was screaming round windy motorways and the streets of KL in the belting down rain ... I started to say my prayers!!

Once back to TUNE hotel I settled into my bed and got a few hours sleep... it was 1am by the time I got to bed and my alarm went off at 430am... needless to say I was exhausted by the time I got onto the plane to Hanoi!

I am now in Hanoi and its been a hectic start... but thats a whole other blog.. or two!!!

Love to all
Reet xxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



23rd October 2009

You go girl
Loving all these blogs.. keep waiting for your next one.. I am glad your having a ball and eagerly awaiting to here about the voodoo man. Love ya and take care of you! xx
23rd October 2009

Howdy!
Hey, glad your having a great time. Your pics look fab! Will read it properly tomorrow as I'm away to bed. I text you the other day not sure if your in touch with the world.... xxx
24th October 2009

sooo enjoying your blog
Hi Reet, I am having fun traveling with you.Say Hi to McKay and send her our love.I can't wait to see more pics and read more on your trip.You girls take care.Keep enjoying those good looking men and of cause the scenery.
24th October 2009

look at you go girl .. not getting lost.. :)
haha luvin the blogs hun... and mighty impressed at you finding your way around KL without getting lost.... cant wait for the next one.. living it through you is the next best thing to going.. :) xxx
26th October 2009

Deepavali Banner
The Happy Deepavali sign was atcuall made out of colored rice instead of jewels =)
26th October 2009

OOPS
Wow rice and not jewels.. makes it even more impressive.. thanks for clarifying it for me !!
13th November 2009

wow
nice blog,its really relaxing for a fish spa experience and the food seem to great...

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb