Kenyir island resort


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu
August 31st 2007
Published: September 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

National Day fell on Friday, so I took leave for three days until Sunday so I drove my family all the way from Johor to Kenyir Lake in Terengganu, abut 400 km away. I booked my lodging at Kenyir Sanctuary Resort few months ahead through internet, costing RM120 per night, staying in a chalet.

After reaching Kuantan I took the interior road passing Kuala Berang and arrived at the Gawi jetty by the lake side. There were a few jetties and difficult to find the correct one and poor signage did not help. So the old and trusted way of asking direction from the locals did help to locate the boat counter and got the correct jetty.

The Sanctuary Resort location was on an island about 5 minutes boat ride distance. The chalet has attached bathroom, decent built, comfortable beds, minus the TV and electric kettle (rendering my instant noodles brought along useless).

My daughters enjoyed the floating swimming boat very much. There was a group of university students swam in the lake itself using life jacket. I tried fishing using artificial lures with no result. Most of the anglers headed to interior, more than half an hour boat ride for the snakehead fish (toman). Few serene jungle tracts with wide and clear path branched out from the resort HQ. I tried some birdwatching the next day and happened to see a barbet among other common species.

Dinner was taken at the resort restaurant, needless to say the it was more expansive than usual price. I took buffet, my kids ordered fried rice (if you don't know what to order this dish seems to be a sure bet, even a westerner diner next table ordered that).

We happened to see a wild boar came to the resort compound and the kids were very excited to see the fellow up close. The resort management tagged a few trees with its scientific name for those nature lovers' info.

With no TV and with tired bodies everyone opted for early sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb