4 days in the Perhentians


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Kecil
September 7th 2013
Published: October 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Finally arriving in the Perhentians at 7am after a long, uncomfortable mini bus journey and a speed boat, Justin and I trailed the stretch of sand to find accommodation. Getting frustrated, as we were looking for a specific price range, Justin walked up through the wooded area to try and find the original place we opted for (only saying this because a local man said he had never heard of it before). He strolled back over to me after 15 minutes of being gone, saying, yes...it was there and for a double room it was 20 ringett per person. Perfect.

In the meantime, I had been chatting to Shanae (English) and Jerry (Taiwan) who were also waiting for the owners of another place to appear, but they thought, our option sounded good so decided to join us.

The first 2 days consisted of laying on the beach, swimming in the beautiful clear sea and general chilling out in a couple of bars in the evening. On our first night we had BBQ on the beach for 30 ringett and you got to choose the fish/meat/seafood of your choice. It took about an hour to get it as the beach was full. I had the crab and this in itself took me about an hour to eat.

I hung out with Shanae and Jerry in the daytime as Justin was off diving most days.

On our third day, Justin left the island and the 3 of us booked a snorkelling trip. It was the best snorkelling I have ever done. We visited 5 bays, including turtle bay where we did actually see turtles. A very big one and a baby. Shark bay, where indeed sharks swam around us. The Lighthouse, this was in a choppy area of the sea with big coral areas and our guide helped entice big schools of fish to us with a bottle of food. Romantic bay, here I saw many clown fish, a rather large eel of some sort, it had a leopard print body. Again, our guide found this hiding under a large rock. He was so great. One last thing, we also held a baby stingray. This again, without our guide, would not have found. I had an amazing experience today.

On my fourth day, I left the island. My decision was to head to Singapore. I got an overnight bus, which was seated and fucking freezing. The air con just got too cold and once I had arrived in Singapore at 12pm the next day, I had a stinking cold!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb