Four days in paradise...


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Kecil
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

If you're wondering why I haven't been writing much lately, it's because I've succombed (sp?) to the island life. Man - is it ever easy to get sucked in! Anything other than laying in the sand and floating in the aqua green waves is just not worth doing (except maybe eating!). I'm even behind in my journal because I couldn't be bothered to pick it up. But today I've had a few hours to kill waiting for a bus - so I'm getting caught up at last!

The Perhentians have been my fav place so far, I think. We met a really solid crew of peeps here and have had a great time chillin' on the beach. We've met some super cool Americans, a Swede, and an awesome Canadian couple who've been teaching and living over here for the past year.

A typical day on Long Beach was to wake up around 10:00 or even later (we had some cloudy mornings), grab some breakfast, and hit the beach until around 6:00. Then it was time to shower, meet for dinner and then hit the beach cafes for a few drinks. There were tons of fire performers throughout the week, which was really cool to watch. "Fire. FIRE." (Think Bevis and Butthead) We decided to stay an extra day at the last minute, which was a great decision. Our last day was spend snorkelling with our posse - and we saw big huge sea turtles and even SHARKS! It was a bit freaky, but pretty friggin' cool! The weather was perfect as well, which it hadn't really been (apparently the ash from Indonesia is creating a bit of the haze we've been having?). So all in all - a good decision to stay and enjoy the clear skies! And Meliss and I are getting brown at last.

I'm actually writing this entry from an internet place just over the border - so i'm officially in Thailand now! My next entry will be about the west coast...keep your fingers crossed that we have good weather over there. It is monsoon season - but apparently there are some good days mixed in with the wet ones. We'll see! We're off to Krabi in a couple hours, from there we plan to hit Rai Leh Beach and Koh Phi Phi. Our time is fairly limited on the west side, so if any of you have advice then please let me know. Thanks!

Advertisement



6th July 2006

skip Pi Pi
Hey girls, sounds INCREDIBLE and I won't even get into my jealousy right now (as i get ready for summer school). I loved Rai Leh...but you have to hit the 'west' side and find that beach where you have to follow a path past a multi-million dollar hidden resort. Its unreal! Oh and that is where all the amazing rock climbers from all over the world go...so its worth watching them!! No ropes, nothing. Its nuts!! Good luck and no matter where you go, you'll love it. Its FULL of back packers in Thailand!!! ;)
8th July 2006

Loving it!
Loving your updates, loving your trips, loving all the fun you are having!! I know the weather will be great in Thailand for you two ladies--give Melis a big hug for me.
11th July 2006

girlies yo!
what up girls?? ahhhhhh dude, just read all your entries (forgot about the blog until now!) and am stoked for you! no pictures yet? I'll have to wait I guess... :( scotty-j is visiting this weekend. we'll be thinking of you girls! xo
12th July 2006

Lovin' the stories!
Hey Laur! I'm LOVING your travel stories, ahh it brings back the asia memories. Don't trust any travel agents or tuk-tuk drivers anywhere! I remembered thinking being a pedestrian was an adventure sport, and as a passenger in the back of taxis/trucks/tuk tuks, I was involved in 3 hit-and-runs there!! Keep the stories coming and give Meliss a big hug!
14th July 2006

Don't get eaten by Sharks
H0-K, so jealousy has definitely set in. Sounds amazing so far, LD. Not the same round here without your smiling face. Let me know if you want me to send you some TCP editing to burn through on the beach...Ha! Safe travels and stay dry!
18th July 2006

you there??!
hey buddy, you're not in indo are you?!? haven't heard from you in awhile, and, well, YOU GOTTA KEEP IN TOUCH IN TIMES LIKE THESE! thinking about ya :)

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb