Last week on the Perhentian Islands


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Besar
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My last week on paradise island came around far too quickly. Managed to catch up with sunbathing, we managed to follow Molly the Hawksbill Turtle during her feed, where she came up for air 4 times - and I had my camera! Many games of scrabble and misc card games, and I think we've exhausted every possible film for pictionary! (How many films have got 'world' or 'family' in?!)

We also did a Fish I.D. dive yesterday, where we tried to identify different types of fish around the coral - went well until I lost our pencil - it was a real 'noooooo' moment! Even Laura couldn't save this one (the other day Fran dropped the slate during a somersault snorkel and Lau dived down to get it before I could even breathe in to get it!) so after that we went round guessing what kind of fish they could be rather than drawing them. Laura spotted a tiny nudibranch though - nice find.

Last night we had a gorgeous BBQ too for mine and Katie's 'last supper'. We also did presentations on various topics including anemones, coral, sponges... Kate, Laura, Fran and I were Team Clam and we even won one of the quizzes woohoo! (Prize was a packet of Oreos, yum.) None of us had that much determination to do the work with distractions such as sun, sea and sand but I think we did some good research. Here was my input:

What's a clam's favourite film?
Silence of the Clams

Or Clamity Jane perhaps?! You'll be glad to know we didn't clam up during the presentation! (OK enough of the clam jokes now)

Sad to leave everyone today, most of the gang waved us off from the beach but some were coming back from their morning dive - so we waved from our passing boat. Had a sweaty walk to try and find the hostel we were booked in at by the jetty, then headed to Kota Bharu to get money out and have some food (was so hungry we waited outside McDonald's until it opened at 3pm, sad times!) and now I'm sat in an internet cafe typing to you. Heading back to the hostel to find somewhere to eat, then up at 4am to get my flights from Kota Bharu to KL, then KL to Singapore, then Singapore to Bangkok. Long winded I know!

Been in touch with some of the people I'm doing the Thai project with who have kindly given me their details so I can catch up with them (I'm arriving a day later than most) - then on Sunday we're off to Singburi where we'll be for the next 4 weeks! Some of the girls here have told me about the project, sounds like I'm in for some adventures! Jungle trek, temple stay and.... vegetarian food!!

Talk to you from Thailand soon. Thank you everyone for your messages! And promise to get some more pics up as soon as I can.

Advertisement



8th October 2007

Anyone tried Tunabay Island Resort?
I am arranging for a trip to Perhentian too. Probably a 5D4N. I am likely to check out Tunabay Island Resort. Anyone been there?

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb