Here fishie fishie!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Mount Santubong
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

They live on stiltsThey live on stiltsThey live on stilts

For when the tide comes in.
The last time I was in Santubong with my friends, we were going to go to Buntal, but I had to go back earlier cause I had to be home for dinner. Therefore when my parents brought up Buntal, I said we have to go. We have to go! I'm not that big a fan of seafood (in fact it was only last year that I willingly ordered a plate of spaghetti marinara, and to date Waterfront Restaurant at Crown Melbourne still has the best) but I'll eat fish!

And so it was today, on a Sunday, that I got a call from my mum while I was still in bed, asking if I wanted to go to Buntal. I said yes. So she said to get ready.

Looked at the clock - 10am. MAN! It's the holidays. On holidays I usually wake up around noon, ok?

So off we went. Brought sunscreen and sunnies just in case. Wore slippers just in case we were going down to the beach. Well, we didn't. But that's ok. We ate fish!

Went to a restaurant called Lim Hock Ann Seafood which just means it's a Chinese establishment in what
Fishies in a rowFishies in a rowFishies in a row

Take your pick!
is a decidedly Malay village. The restaurant looks like a big ... hut? A section of it is an actual residence, with a proper living room and TVs and couches, and the rest of it is for eating. The floorboard was made of wooden planks which I thought was very cool. Apparently I've been to Buntal before when I was very young, and if anything, I remember going to a restaurant with wooden planks. There was a verandah sort of thing, kind of as a lookout point to the sea, and it was gorgeous. Too bad they sealed off some sections as they had to repair some of the floor. There didn't seem to be any stairs leading down to the beach though.

I didn't think the food was that great. I had the best time eating the kangkung belacan but that was about it. I liked the way the fish was done (steamed with ginger and chillies) but the fish was tougher than I normally like them, and boy did it have lots of little bones. Damn annoying things. We also had squid that was curried (curry calamari! ha ha!) and that was good, but I don't like
More seafood in a rowMore seafood in a rowMore seafood in a row

Including "bamboo clam".
chewy squid.

Anyway. Took several shots of the place, missed out on shooting a bunch of local people trying to get into a boat.

After lunch, we headed over to the Santubong area which wasn't very far. I showed my parents where we started our hike, and where we ended. I think they were impressed.

Then we moved down to Damai, and they showed me the Holiday Inn Damai Lagoon resort. And GOOD GOLLY. It is such a beautiful place. It's next to Camp Permai too which my parents say is a very very nice place. Mum said she'll take us to Camp Permai for a night next time. I can't wait.

So many places within Sarawak I want to go to now. More time in Damai. Some time in Camp Permai. And MULU! I must go to Mulu one day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The eating area of the restaurantThe eating area of the restaurant
The eating area of the restaurant

See how it overlooks the sea?
A sampan boatA sampan boat
A sampan boat

In case they need to go out to sea. To catch fish.
The villageThe village
The village

Well, a little bit of it
The half-eaten fishThe half-eaten fish
The half-eaten fish

It was a big fish.
Local people having a chatLocal people having a chat
Local people having a chat

By their little stall.
The cloudy sky at the Damai resortThe cloudy sky at the Damai resort
The cloudy sky at the Damai resort

Still a beautiful place. You can see a little of Mount Santubong.
Hello beach!Hello beach!
Hello beach!

Yes. Unadultered picture.
Colourful little bellsColourful little bells
Colourful little bells

There was a store selling all these kitsch little things. Including woodwork from Kashmir! :O
There, woodwork.There, woodwork.
There, woodwork.

Though not from Kashmir.
Entrance to Damai Beach Lagoon resortEntrance to Damai Beach Lagoon resort
Entrance to Damai Beach Lagoon resort

Note the 4 statue thing. So Sarawakian. I love it.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb