Climbing Mount Kinabalu Part two


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Mount Kinabalu
October 27th 2010
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I must say sleeping wasn’t easy - the bunks were uncomfortable and squeaky everytime you moved - not to mention the man who snored and the girl who must have got up to go to the loo about 12 times, oh and the fact that it was still raining so hard that it made a thundering noise as it hit the roof and that we were still in damp clothes!

However, when 2am came we got up and readied ourselves for the feat ahead. A quick breakfast and a hot drink and we went out to meet Porinus our guide to start our final climb at 2.30am.At least it was now dry. Today was going to be a very long day indeed. We would have to climb up to the top, then back to the hostel for something to eat, and then get all the way to the bottom again!

The way up was steep, very steep. Some parts were steps, and some were climbs made with only ropes to help us up and almost vertical! This part of the climb was only 2kms and 800 metres vertical but it was incredibly hard. As we traversed over the final part of the climb to the summit I was feeling very tired indeed and was only managing to do about 20 steps before having to stop to rest. I wasn’t the only one. It appeared that everyone was the same. He altitude and the terrain were telling. Stuart urged me on. I think that my willpower was waning and I would have given up there and then if he hadn’t spurred me on.

However, we did make it to the top at 4,095 metres and I sat at the top shivering uncontrollably. I admired the view etc but I just wanted to have the obligatory photos done and get back down the mountain. I have never felt so cold in my life, ever! Cold right down to my core. I didn’t even feel any sense of achievement which I thought that I would. Just relief that I had done it.

Now we had to make our way down again. Firstly huge bolders, then smooth slippery granite, then the treacherous rope descent, and then finally the steps to Laban Rata for a hot drink and some well earned food before we packed our things ready for our final descent to 1800 metres.

Thinking that the worse was over, we set off with Porinus to make the 6km descent at 8.45am. Luckily it was dry and relatively warm. We started well but the constant pounding on the knees and soles of the feet took their toll and it was Stuart’s turn to have a difficult time. He was certainly “running on empty” and it was all I could do to keep him moving. But we eventually got to the Timpohon Gate where Stuart collapsed in a heap on the steps only to be revived by an isotonic drink.

Luckily our transport was waiting for us, so we grabbed some Snickers bars and a couple of cans and got the taxi to take us straight back to our hotel for a welcome shower and sleep. By this time, the bottoms of my feet were throbbing like mad and the rest of my body was starting to stiffen up.

On reflection, climbing the mountain was a huge achievement, but it was so much harder than I ever thought it would be! I am a reasonably fit 50 year old but the mountain took me to my limits - both mentally and physically. I think it is fair to say that Kilimanjaro is now a distant dream! I don’t regret doing it and I will never forget the experience, but I think a challenge like that tells you alot about yourself. I did things I never thought that I could ever do, but also realised that my willpower is sadly lacking and that without Stuart spurring me on at the end of the climb, I would have given up.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb