Loop 2, a Sad Goodbye Borneo and Singapore Slings


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
February 26th 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

PM's Christmas party PM's Christmas party PM's Christmas party

First drinks after 10 weeks without booze at the brass monkey
My how time flies. I can’t believe that I’m sitting in a 2 man (well 2 woman actually) camper van in New Zealand typing this and the Borneo and Australian part of my adventure is behind me and over!!!!
I was so sad to leave Borneo. I loved everything about it; the people, the culture, the food and the wildlife, all of it amazing. I worked with a great set of people who worked very hard and the venturers were a fantastic group of young people. I miss them all.

My last few weeks were just as enjoyable as the rest of my time on expedition and I managed to take a couple of days off with Amy, who had travelled out to Borneo for a couple of weeks, before continuing with me on the rest of my round the world trip. However, I also got another chance to go out on another loop . Unfortunately, one of the logs girls, Nikki, was taken ill (having worked very hard on an impossible gravity water feed system) and was unable to take her place on the 3rd and final loop with Sarah the DPM and Pili the Spanish photographer, so I
Bukit NagaBukit NagaBukit Naga

The teams hide away at the ventureres leaving beach party
got to go instead. Whilst I hate to gain by some one else’s misfortune, I was so pleased to be asked to go in her place. On our way though, we did have a bit of a delay! Only 3 hours into our trip, we were held up by a land slide on the only road that crosses Sabah which caused a 4 hour delay. It seems after the landslide had covered the entire road, the police thought it was ok to leave the scene before the road was cleared to direct the traffic, so when the ministry of transport man turned up personally to apologise to each car in the traffic jam (how sweet of him) for the delay and explain the problem, we just sat back and thought, “Ah well, Sabah time rules again”. I got to go to Imbak Canyon again and really enjoyed swimming in the canyon river this time, but even better, the trek in and out seemed to be a lot easier for me the second time around. All that walking in and out of the jungle at Sepilok must have worked!! Whilst I didn’t get to go to Sepilok again, I did get
Party TimeParty TimeParty Time

Venturers partying until the wee small hours on thier final night
to go to a project I had not been to before; Kampong Nibang. Here a team of venturers took down a dilapidated wooden community hall and rebuilt it, painted it and had an opening ceremony in just a few short weeks. Suffice it to say, the villagers were delighted, as it now allows them to keep their only communication with the world dry - a satellite phone. It’s not an easy trip to this kampong because after you have driven off road for about an hour and a half (on a very difficult track), you still have to cross the most amazing bridge over a very wide River Nibang. It was amazing, but all too soon, the loop trip was over and preparations for endex (end of expedition) started. How sad, it sort of marked the beginning of the end of my Borneo experience.
In no time phase 3 was over and the venturers were on their way back to rap up the 09K expedition and go party at a place called Bukit Naga, a fabulous rustic beach resort south of Kota Kinabalu. They partied till late and some all night, but the farewells the following day were very sad.
Pulau Tiga Pulau Tiga Pulau Tiga

G&T on the end of the pier at sunset. The final night.
They all had a great experience they will never forget - and nor will I. But less of all the sadness!!!! After a few days of packing away equipment, cleaning field base for the next expedition and writing reports, it was time for the grown ups to party - with alcohol - and proper food ( not Raleigh rations) - clean clothes and everything. Now if you’ve been deprived of alcohol for the best part of 3 months and you start to drink like you’ve never stopped, it can get very messy, very messy indeedy. However, fun was had by all and we had a fab farewell awards ceremony, celebrating all our ‘finer’ moments on expedition and an amazing endex party on an island 2 hours south of Kota Kinabalu, called Pulau Tiga (apparently the one used in the TV series called Survivor Island). The island was truly beautiful and a real treat, especially the impromptu mud bath in the volcanic mud which was a really good experience. I’ve never laid on top of a liquid end not been able to sink before - bizarre. Just like the venturers (but with alcohol) we partied till late and some all night
Pulau Tiga SunsetPulau Tiga SunsetPulau Tiga Sunset

The island used for the TV show Shipwrecked
on a delightful beach with a stunning sunset. And before I knew it, I was saying goodbye to group of people I shall never forget.
By the way, the cat turned out to be a boy - not a girl. So HE is now called Pablo Picatso J
Amy had left Borneo the day before me (having climbed Mt Kinabalu - all 4098 meters of it - and experienced a few jungle adventures of her own) and had flown to Singapore, which is where we met up for Singapore slings in Raffles and a walk around the Christmas trimmed city centre - and my oh my Singapore really dresses up for the festive season big time, its fantastic. They really get into the spirit and it feels lovely but odd to be celebrating what is in effect traditionally, for me at any rate, a cold winter celebration, but in very hot sunny conditions. The Singapore slings cost us a second mortgage but we had a giggle anyway and were soon flying out to Melbourne, Australia, to meet the other half of my brood.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tearful farewellTearful farewell
Tearful farewell

Leaving for an early plane in Kota Kinabalu.
Christmas in SingaporeChristmas in Singapore
Christmas in Singapore

My these guys love Christmas trimmings. Bet it takes them till June to take them down!!!


26th February 2010

Fun fun fun
Hiya, looks and sounds like you're stuill having lots of fun. I can imagine it was really sad to leave everyone no doubt you were crying buckets! Missing you lots, stay safe and take care xxx

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb