Rockin' Kota Kinabalu


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
December 14th 2009
Published: December 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
As I left Brunei for Sabah, I was taking a boat to Labuan Island and then another one to Kota Kinabalu, Sabah's capital. Once I got on the boat for Labuan Island, I got an immigration form for Malaysia. When I had to fill in the date, I was looking for my phone to see what day it was. But... I couldn't find my phone! I looked everywhere in my bag, and I was sure I had it in my hand when I was still in the boat terminal... The boat started moving and it could leave any moment. What now? I had no idea where it could be. Maybe it was stolen...
I went up to one of the boat crew and at first they weren't very keen in helping, but without my precious gadget, I could not leave, right? So I started asking questions again and another guy came down the stairs and said that the police in the terminal had found "a phone". Well, that must be the one! But the boat was really moving now, it was leaving! I said I had to go back and get it, so one of the boat crew guys led the sprint back to the terminal where the wonderful Brunei police where in the possession of my phone! Yay! The boat was so kind to wait a couple of minutes until my return. I got a couple of strange looks as I re-entered the boat, but I was all smile, because I had my phone again. Now I could fill in the date on the immigration form! :-)

So I arrived and spent a couple of days in Kota Kinabalu, not doing much actually, except for blogging and rocking at the Shenanigan's pub, a great place to go out! There's a good Filipino band that plays here, and does the the pop-rock-R&B covers very well! One of the highlights was definitely their cover of AC/DC's Highway to Hell; check it out in the video; pretty explosive, huh?

After a few days of relaxing it's time for action again. I just arrived at the Park headquarters of Mount Kinabalu, South-East Asia's highest mountain at 4095m. I'm going to climb it tomorrow and the next day! It'll be cold up there, but a great challenge!

Advertisement



15th December 2009

Altitude
He Tony, take some chocolate with you to cope with any possible altitude sickness! Everything above 4000m, and you'll start noticing dizyness and shortness of breath. Don't tell me I didn't warn you, haha. Have a great climb!
7th January 2010

yihaaaaaa!
heyyyaaa thanks for the video.. hope you had fun in KK.. we'll we're going back to Philippines soon... i'll keep in touch...

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 97; dbt: 0.0994s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb