Climbing Mt. Kinabalu


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
January 17th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mount KinabaluMount KinabaluMount Kinabalu

Mount Kinabalu, 4095 meters, located in Sabah, Malaysia on the Island of Borneo.
On Friday the 13th we started climbing Mount Kinabalu. Our destination was Low's Peak which is the highest point on Mount Kinabalu, Southeast Asia's highest mountain at 4095 meters (over 13,000 feet). Mt. Kinabalu is in Sabah on the Island of Borneo and in the country of Malaysia.

It was 10:20 when we left the first gate or check point, and I saw lots of interesting things in the first few minutes because we were going through a rain forest/jungle with waterfalls and lots of vegetation everywhere. Lucky for us there were not too many insects. After 1 hour I saw a dead snake and then another one.

It was a 6 kilometer hike to the Laban Rata Hut were we spent the night at 11,000 ft. The hut had a restaurant and we had to go to bed at 8:00pm and get up at 2:00 am to get to the summit in time for the sunrise.

In the morning we all started together at 3:00 am. We started up the mountain with head lamps because it was still dark out. I hiked faster than my parents and decided to meet them at the
Carson WaterfallCarson WaterfallCarson Waterfall

Beginning of trail to Hut, Kilometer.5.
top which was 2.5 kilometers straight up. I soon hiked past everyone who was ahead of me. You have to hold onto ropes because you could fall down the mountain. After 20 minutes I got to a gate (another checkpoint) and asked if anyone was ahead of me and they said five people. I soon saw the five people sitting right past the gate.

I was by myself until two guides came up behind me. It started to get very cold and windy and I put on my jacket. There was no more vegetation this high, just fields of granite. There was a rope I followed and each time it seemed to lead into a big rock that I had to go around. Then I would follow another rope. I stopped to drink some water and a guide caught up to me. Then he dropped behind. Finally I got to the top and it was freezing, windy, dark and all cold rock. I put on everything I had and huddled under a rock and almost froze to death. I got to the summit at 3:55.

My dad finally arrived an hour later. He gave me some warm clothes and a snicker bar. It was still two hours until sunrise so I decided to go down. I went back to the hut and went back to bed until Natalie, Mom and Dad returned.
Mom and Natalie got to the summit by 5:45. It took them almost 3 hours and I never saw them.

Thanks to all who have written to me.

We are now in Australia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Pitcher PlantPitcher Plant
Pitcher Plant

Carnivorous plant found on the trail.
Laban Rata HutLaban Rata Hut
Laban Rata Hut

Laban Rata Hut at 11,000 ft. and Kilometer 6.
View View
View

Looking up towards peaks behind Laban Rata Hut. Route goes up to the right.
3:00 AM3:00 AM
3:00 AM

Way to cheery for early in the morning.
Summit Summit
Summit

A dark cold night at the top.
Summit PhotoSummit Photo
Summit Photo

The only photo of me on the summit and climb.
Descent  from SummitDescent  from Summit
Descent from Summit

Natalie was cold.
Our GuideOur Guide
Our Guide

You have to hire a guide to climb the mountain even though the climb is completely marked with ropes and wooden stairs. No way to get lost even in a white out.


24th January 2006

nice photos
Your trip is really fascinating, thanks for the great updates. Andy and I are leaving for Baja tomorrow. We're driving with our little dog and will study Spanish in La Paz. Home in JH in March. We look forward to your next blog. What a great adventure. You're lucky to get to see the world together. January 19th was the 25th anniversary of Harry Frishman's death, Christie. Love to you all, nancy
24th January 2006

rock the mountain
it looks amazing. last night i dreamt i was traveling around the world, but the boat i was on was getting thrashed in a storm. is new zealand in the near future? love you guys. lake
25th January 2006

great view
Your adventure is great and amazing!!-take care guys.
25th January 2006

Paris, Thanks for putting us on your travelblog. I'm sitting here looking at your pictures, reading the stories and wish I were your age again! It all began in Malaysia for Joe and I and how I wish we were back in Kuala Lumpur. Your experiences sound amazing. They're making me get the travel bug! I'm off to put Bojangles in the garage for the night. Remember that silly cat. Keep the pics coming, I'm living a bit vicariously through them. Say hello to your mom and dad. Peace out.
26th January 2006

Lynn is in Boulder visiting and we are sitting in my lovely living room of my lovely house (thanks to you) and enjoying reading about your travels. Lynn has a new email address which she would like you to add to your list to receive these wonderful travelblogs: lynnbb@nc.rr.com and also add zachblass@nc.rr.com. We are traveling with you in spirit. Much love, Lynn and Wendy 2
26th January 2006

Hi Paris, We're glad too see that your having fun and no longer shackled to the school books. Your descriptions and the photographs are incredible. We especially liked "jaws". Did you have him for breakfast or dinner? We miss you guys. Take care
27th January 2006

Great Photo
Hi Paris and the family, Natalie, Nice to meet you guy here in Brunei. Those photo of Mt. Kinabalu is great! twp tumb up. Well done. Looking forward to your story on Brunei. Have a great holiday! I am going back to KK for Chinese New Year. See you Leslie hasatour@brunet.bn
1st February 2006

helllooo
Hi all, looks amazing. Paris tell Natalie that if you get on her nerves all she has to tell you is wupwozaaaaaa!! See what she says. Love, Brett
15th February 2006

Love from Richmond
Hello hello. You are giving us the travel bug- one bug that only does good things. I am going to start having the kids mark your journey on a map and study the areas your going to. I can only imagine that it would be so hard to ever want to stop travelling after all of the things you get to experience. The kids just made great Valentine's and received some of the sweetest homemade cards. Suzannne, Nancy, the kids and I just did a whirlwind tour of San Francisco; what a great time! Suzanne and I went up the Coit tower- we had never been up there. We saw the flock of wild parrots-what a treat. Then ran around Pier 39 -the sea lions put on a wonderful mating display for us. Nancy's girls are too precious; and of course my kids are the cat's meow. Love ya- miss ya Virginia
10th March 2006

climber
sounds like your going to be a mountain climber next time wait for the sunrise i wish i was there

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb