Borneo bummer??


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So after arranging the international flight from Clark to Kota Kinabalu and saying goodbye to my wife I arrived at my destination - a backpackers place in Kota Kinabalu. Abdul welcomes me and asked me what I intend to do in KK, this is rather surprising given that prior to my departure he told me the mountain climb, guides and accom was all sorted.

So i tell him, "I'd like to climb the mountain in the four days I am here, it's all booked isn't it?". He looks at me, laughs and tells me, "I'm sorry I couldn't book it, there were no places left".

At that point I was about to poke him in the eye. Not wanting to show my annoyance I just asked him if there was anyother way tio do the climb. He said that I can take a chance, do it independently and just turn up and wait for a drop-out. Then I would have to register with the HQ, have a guide and get a permit.

So that's what I decided to do. Take a chance and hope that someone drops out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb