The first days


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
November 5th 2006
Published: November 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We finally arrived. Somehow we managed to lose a day, I have no idea what happened to the 1st November. Anyway, we ar currently at a hostel called Tropicana in the capital of Sabah (one of the two malaysian provinces of Bornea) Kota Kinabalu. It's a fairly large modern city with most things you want to find (guitars and things like that).

Yesterday we went out on our first trip, to an island close by called Sapi. It's a great place for diving, however we went for snorkeling. It was great though, it was basicly jumping down a fish tank. We saw hundreds of cool fishes and other animals, most of would swim next to you totally unafraid.

Inspired by the moment I bought a snorkel and a mask, seems a bit stupid to rent each time you want to go snorkeling.

I never really suffered a lot of jetlag which was a great thing and managed to sleep well on the flight over.

We are planning the rest of our time on Borneo, the next step will be climbing Mount Kinabalu (over 4000 meters!). We are also planning to go to one of the islands where apperantly there is live coral just outside the beach. They say its top 5 of the world for diving.

I do really like it here, it's quite ideal. Good temperature, good food, no hustlers, very friendly people and all in all a really relaxed feeling. Not to add the marvelous nature, green sea, amazing jungles and white beaches. It's like spending time in a postcard. This could quite possibly be the best of the whole trip, but then again that is probably a mandatory feeling for the first place you get to. We are discussing extending our time here and maybe have a bit less somewhere else.

The owner of our guesthouse is a great guy who helps with everything, mainly without charge. I bought my snorkeling in his friends shop and he managed to get a 10% discount. He immediately tried to get a 20% but didnt success. He drives us around if we want to and spend time with the guest during the evenings.

I have got my eyes on a guitar and think it will be saved from the guitar shop in the next couple of days.

The other guests here have spoken about airasia, a really really lowcost airline and we are checking into them a bit to save some travel time.

I have not managed to take a single picture, but I am pretty crap at photographing. I will try though.

I will try to write more often about our adventures in paradise. Up to come is jungle safari, a trip to the turtle island and the oran utan centre.

Advertisement



5th November 2006

ooooh the jealousy runs thick through my veins at reading all this! It sounds like you guys have found a little paradise. I would suggest that if your enjoying it, stay there until you feel there is all to be explored. No point running from a place you like :) And as for guitars....you should have this one I've got in my hand. If I'd been home when you left, I wouldn't have let you go without taking it! Doesn't matter though, it's getting used here as well. Well, I will write properly shortly. Still waiting for net in the house, but when we get it is when communication will start flowing freely from my side as well. For now, keep up the blogging, it's good to hear how your doing, take care, Nick.
5th November 2006

Sweden's calling
Hope you'll have a great journey down under! Me myself is up north in Dalarna, let's call it a vacation ... a lot of snow up here, like eldorado! See you my friend. Buenos Noches Andreas
7th November 2006

Nice move man!
Önskar att det var jag som var i paradiset! Jenny är på grenada... och jag är i stockholm med en 6 veckor bäbis, Rastaman och blått hus! Ska äventyra mig ner till apoteket och köpa rumpkräm till lillan nu :-) Kram och lycka till.
8th November 2006

Waz up dog?
Hej Kristoffer och travel mate! Va kul att få hänga med er till Borneo! Njut av allt vårt fantastiska klot har att bjuda på. Och håll koll på krokodilerna... Kram Lena & Christer

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb