An orangutan stole my heart and other random thoughts


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kinabatangan
February 28th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

You can be completely motionless here and still sweat like a complete bastard 😊. Fried banana and chili for breakfast is sublime. Staying in the jungle is sweaty, slushy, squelchy and full of raucous noise. Orangutans are heartbreakingly gorgeous. Probiscus monkeys extraordinary. I feel no rascism - just one big world. There are 32 tribes, different races and every colour. The word Malaysia could almost translate to peaceful cultural fusion. Geckos sing to you. Bouncing butterflies are catching my eye. Delicate dragon fruit and sago with coconut is DIVINE.My home stay family where generously hospitable. I love eating with my hands. I love greeting people with my hand over my heart. Outdoor showering from a bucket, feet in the mud, pouring soft rainwater over my head while I stare deep into the ultra-green is delicious. Fireflies on the river at night are a gift. We spent an afternoon planting trees in sloppy, hot mud to regenerate the orangutans canopy. I got SUPER dirty. I felt so alive. Roosters crow MUCH more than once at the crack of dawn. The hum of the overhead fan slices through all the nights sounds and soothes you to sleep. Slow. Whirring. The sizzle of the wok makes my skin tingle. I'm dreaming huge, colourful stories. Sometimes poor can mean incredibly rich. I feel lost and found. RICH with this experience. I'm ready to climb to the sky.

The past few days have been incredible, remote and earthy. No internet. I have ten minutes at a truck stop and will type some tales later. I am heading to Kinabalu Mountain now and will be off air until I hike to the top.

Hope everyone is well, I'm sending lots of love from the hills of Sabah.
Kris
xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb