Day 2 @ Han Chin Pet Soo (Apr 2016)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Perak » Ipoh
April 22nd 2016
Published: July 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 22nd April 2016

"This is not an indoor petting zoo," the guide exclaimed as I entered the premises to begin the tour.

In the afternoon, I made my way to the Han Chin Pet Soo Museum located next to the Concubine Lane in Ipoh Old Town. Admission is free even though a donation of RM10 is encouraged to keep the museum running. Admission is through appointment only and I booked my 2.30pm slot one week before I arrived. The whole tour lasted about 2 hours and it was fully-guided to enhance the viewing experience.

This museum is dedicated to the history of tin mining in Kinta Valley. Occupying the premises of the Hakka Tin Miners' Clubhouse, it is a must-visit to gain a historical perspective of the city through the living exhibits and the furnishings of the past.

I'm certainly glad that I managed to spend sometime within this living museum while on holiday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.718s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 79; dbt: 0.5212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb