Holiday in Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Perak » Ipoh
May 14th 2006
Published: May 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kellie's castleKellie's castleKellie's castle

Castle built by a Scottish guy for his wife. It was never actually finished, but is a neat mix of European and Indian architecture.
I was very lucky to have the opportunity to take a few days off last week to visit my Malaysian family in Seri Iskandar, Malaysia. I took a inter Asia airline (like Southwest at home) from Bangkok and then another little flight about 130 miles north of Kuala Lumpur to meet Norlina and family. Norlina was our first foreign student when I was 10 years old in Lincoln and met her husband, Sharil, at UNL…so we have always been in contact with the family as they keep growing (now with 5 kids!). I can’t believe that it had been 5 years since I was last able to visit. The country is still just as beautiful and HOT as ever…but all of the kids are so much bigger. I guess that happens!

We kept busy running errands and visiting a few towns that I had been to last time (which of course had grown significantly), as well as some new places. The two eldest kids are now living at their boarding schools, so a majority of my time was spent with the 3 youngest. They have a beautiful house and I was lucky to stay with them and just be able to relax (as much as you can with 3 young kids!), eat home cooked meals, and be with family. I already miss them and all the hugs!

Not much more to update at his point. Happy Mother’s day to all of you moms out there…I will be trying to enjoy my last day here in Bangkok before enduring 24 hours worth of traveling to get to Senegal!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Relaxing with the kidsRelaxing with the kids
Relaxing with the kids

Hanging out with Hannah and Adzrin.
Street futbolStreet futbol
Street futbol

Kids in the neighborhood bear the heat and play futbol (soccer) and badminton in the street.
Birthday celebration!Birthday celebration!
Birthday celebration!

Norlina and I both got an early b-day celebration with KFC and a cake for lunch! The kids even wrote me really nice cards. :)
Smile!Smile!
Smile!

Adzim and I hanging on the couch!


12th December 2006

hi...
Hi kristin...how r you...I'm Norlina's youngest sister (her twin sister)...actually we haven't met yet...my sister send me your travel blog when i went to their house last week...nice picture...i love it...k, that's all for now...bye

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb