Penang - Georgetown and Batu Ferrenghi


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang
January 3rd 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a long winded route to Penang, I arrived in Georgetown by ferry and took a taxi to my hotel. First impressions of Georgetown were not great, seeing a big rat a few minutes into my journey! The hotel was on a bit of a quiet street so I didn't feel like venturing beyond the cafe opposite for dinner which was a shame.

With a hopeful outlook I ventured into Georgetown the next morning. I began just wandering, as I like to get the feel for a place. I found some busier streets, but Georgetown had a strange eerie feel to it, for me anyway. I would turn a corner and be alone on an empty street with not much going on.

Still, Georgetown again had an interesting mix of culture. Temples, mosques and churches were dotted around which was nice to see. Some were very ornate and beautiful. I came across a nice church service at St. George's church.

Penang street market was fun and had a good vibe. I tried some local food, and watched some dancers perform. There were some nice local products for sale as well.

Little India was a good area, much busier and interesting so I had a nice stroll round there, but it was relatively small.

I went to Malaysia's largest temple; Kek lok Si, perched up on a hill providing a view over Georgetown. It was an impressive structure and very ornate. The only disappointment for me was the pathways of markets I was forced to walk through in order to get there. The tourist industry provides a whole livelihood that is necessary, but at the same time can be a real spoiler, but there seems to be no solution to the problem.

I had a frustrating afternoon waiting for ages for a bus to Penang hill, only to find that the next available tickets were for 6pm later that day, so I got back on a bus to Georgetown. Ironically the bus system was called Rapid Penang.

Had some great dinners - food in Penang is excellent, especially the really local places. I enjoyed a good curry. I also visited the Fort Cornwallis, to read about the story of Penang.

Next stop was Batu Ferrenghi, for a relaxing few days on the beach. I had some nice weather, enjoyed some foot reflexology and some more curries. I didn't swim in the sea because it wasn't very inviting, but enjoyed relaxing on the beach and reading my book for a few days! I ended 2008 with a barbecue on the beach with a nice crowd of fellow tourists, and welcomed in 2009 with a day on the beach, very pleasant!

At times, especially in the afternoon, the rains came, but for the most part the weather was nice.

So, January began in Malaysia, then I was back to Hong Kong for a few weeks work before ending the month in the UK!

J x




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

St. George's ChurchSt. George's Church
St. George's Church

A lovely old church in Georgetown
Chinese TempleChinese Temple
Chinese Temple

The smokiest temple I've visited in a while
Colonial Hotel in GeorgetownColonial Hotel in Georgetown
Colonial Hotel in Georgetown

Related to the Raffles in Singapore
Georgetown marketGeorgetown market
Georgetown market

Break dancing in the streets
Me on the beachMe on the beach
Me on the beach

Batu Ferrenghi


Tot: 0.432s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 131; dbt: 0.1787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb