Taman Nagarra; Canopy Walks


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Taman Negara National Park
November 25th 2006
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tembling river journeyTembling river journeyTembling river journey

In our boat travelling upstream
Kuala Lumpar was interesting but I felt Id had enough city mayhem, it was time to get immersed in the worlds oldest rainforest (Taman negara). We found ourselves sat in long boat, speeding up the Tembling River (great name) surrounded by beautiful lush tropical forest as we cruised into the depths of the jungle.

We stayed on the river in a disgusting dorm where in order to shower you had to stand over the hole in the floor/ toilet, how pleasant! But the views overlooking the national park, the floating restaurants and sounds of the jungle made up for it.

On our first night we went on an organised night jungle treck. With our torches we stumbled around spotting creatures of the night. When I looked down at my feet I realised large turmites were heading up my legs! and I was stood on their nest. We spotted monkeys, giant moths, stick insects, glow worms and glow in the dark mushrooms (true magic mushies!) We all became aware of a high pitched, loud sound like a mozquito by your ear, as everyone was flapping their arms around their ears our guide pointed out the huge insect making the piercing
Canopy WalkCanopy WalkCanopy Walk

45 metres up trying not to look terrified!!
sound. Two memebers of the group got leeches, one didnt even notice until she noticed her blood splattered top. I was exceedingly paranoid at this point and our guide continued to spot nasty creatures (scorpians and lethal spiders), I just wanted to go to bed, no sense of adventure, I know!

The following day we climbed up into the forest and sat waiting our turn on the canopy walk, as giant ants (as big as mice) crawled past, I thought to myself im sure the canopy walk cant be too scary (being scared of heights). I was very wrong, it was the most terrifying walk of my life! Creaky narrow planks swayed beneath me as I held on for dear life to the loose ropes that suspended the walkway to the trees. It felt particularly unstable as it swayed from side to side. Each bridge got increasingly higher to my dismay, I had to climb a shaky ladder from the tree to the bridge and look down at the 45 metre drop beneath, it was horrendous!! Ive never felt so physically shaky and thought my legs were going to collapse! The fact half the bridges were closed for repairs
In the JungleIn the JungleIn the Jungle

Awesome vines.
installed further faith in thir stability. It was incredible to see the tops of trees below my feet, when i allowed myself small glimpses! But it was a huge relief to be back on the ground afterwards!

We climbed 350 metres up through the forest, which was beautiful and the views justified the letres of sweat produced! Then we took a wet rapids boat trip to a jungle tribe. Our guide was excellent as he'd spent weeks living with these people (with their own language) to communicate about their way of life. They lived in small wooden huts and hunted from the forests. They showed us how they make fire without the tediom of rubbing wood together. They swiftly made a poison arrow dart and showed us techniques for hunting. What was quite mad is the way they dispose of their dead- they place them on the highest points of trees so animals cant eat them so freely, then they relocate areas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

In the JungleIn the Jungle
In the Jungle

Using tree roots as steps!


31st December 2006

Crikey..you've got a tan!... ; )

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb