Cameron Highlands


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands
January 27th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We set off on our first bit of real traveling on Thursday Jan 20th, after a bit of a mixup with the location of the bus (note for the future, look up the day before we move on!!) we set off on 2 buses to get us to the Cameron Highlands. We arrived at around 6pm and chose Father's Guesthouse at 15 RM (around 3 pounds something) each per night in a dorm.

The Cameron Highlands as the name suggests is highup in the hills so is a bit colder than KL but is still very warm during the day. It has beautiful scenary and is surrounded by rainforest.

The next day we went on an organised tour in the afternoon which consisted of just Hayley and I!! This involved taking us around a tea plantation/factory (beautiful views), a flower plantation (more beautiful views), strawberry picking (no ripe strawberries available), a butterfly garden (I will overcome my fear of moths!!), a bee garden and a buddist temple (really interesting). The tour cost 25 RM each as worth it to see a few areas of the Cameron Highlands.

For our final full day here we went on a trek into the rainforest (this time there were a few more than just Hayley and I) to see a rare flower and then treked halfway back and swam in a waterfall. This was really fun, the water was very refreshing from the heat. The final part of the tour involved going to see an Orang Asli aboriginal tribe who performed a blow pipe demonstration. Hayley and I then both had a go at it, though I have to admit Hayley hit the target first time whereas it took me about 4 attempts!!

Overall I would highly recommend anyone who visits Malaysia to go to the Cameron Highlands especially if you are into treking. Our next stop is (was as I am writing this a week late) Pulau Pangkor which is a small Island off the West Coast.

Advertisement



28th January 2011

Moths!!
Awesome times then mate?!! (thats a rhetorical question by the way). Anyway i'm glad you both got there in one piece and it sounds like you're having an amazing time.... I'll confess that i wet myself at the moth fear comment, never thought i'd hear you say that!! I instantly had a flashback to you in Adam's garage :) Anyway i'll look forward to the next blog, keep 'em coming Tek care and say hello to Hayley for us mate :) Andy
29th January 2011

Sounds very Picturesque.
Dear David and Hayley, Loving descriptions of your Dailly Tours, including the cost, (nice and cheap) I can easily picture them in my mind, it all sounds wonderfully exciting. I met your mum in Liverpool yesterday, not quite as Exotic, but their was a couple of Large Yukkas in Plant Pots Dotted around The Shopping Precinct "Umm" not quite the same, we had a lovely day though, I think I might have Persuaded your mum to download Facebook on the Computor, fingers crossed, Keep up the good work, and be careful, Love to you and Hayley, Auntie Chris,xxx

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb