Ruins and a river


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
February 6th 2010
Published: February 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Flying in from Jakarta that morning (about 11.45 - 22 January 2010) I was not sure if I should wait for the 4 pm Transnasional bus to Melaka at the LCCT of Kuala Lumpur Airport for Melaka (Malacca) or opt for the option of traveling to KL and then changing a bus for my destination. I had checked on the internet, including Travelblog, and it seemed that the first direct bus to Melaka from the airport does not leave until 4.

As usual the shouts from the bus booths that line up a wall as you are about to step out of the airport were confusing, fast and loud. Agents from diffferent coach companies were all shouting over each other: "KL Central, KL Central". Rather than approaching a booth, I shouted back equally loudly "Melaka", while kept walking towards the exit. It shut them up and they all started pointing to the Transnasional booth there.

I had to turn back.

Once at the booth I was advised that the next bus to Melaka will leave at 2 pm from bus bay 7 or 8. It was not bad at all. Enough time for me to have lunch, and spend the rest ogling at passengers. When I asked to buy a ticket, I was told they don't sell one and I would have to go inside the arrival hall of the domestic terminal to buy the ticket or buy one onboard. I walked away not sure what to do but the middle-aged chap from booth came running after me and offerred to take me to the domestic terminal. Although it was not a long walk, I was his grateful nontheless as without him it may not have been so simple for me to convince the security guys to let me into the domestic arrival hall. I bought the ticket from the chatty Malay lady, who kindly suggested that I may have my lunch in the food court in front of the bus terminal as this way I could keep an eye out for the from inside the airconditioned hall. Sweltering it was out in the open.

The bus was only half-full and very comfortable. A local sitting across the aisle was curious and ready to throw questions at me. I did not mind as it gave me an opportunity to practice my basic Bahasa Melayu/Indonesia (the Malay language) with him. Once he felt satiated with all the information about my travel plans, he reclined his seat and fell asleep. It gave me a chance to look out of the window during the one-hour forty-minute journey, although there was not much to look at from palm tree.

The bus terminated at 'Bas Sentral" (Bus Central) a few kilometres away from the heritage area. From the bus terminal I booked a budget hotel within 5 minute walk of the heritage area. Bus no. 17 took only one ringgit and dropped me near Taming Sari, the Melaka Tower, just a block away from the hotel.

I dopped my bags and was out in minutes to explore the attractions of the heritage area, Jonker Walk and the Melaka river.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb