Macau...a June 14-19 bday trip


Advertisement
Macau's flag
Asia » Macau » Macau
June 29th 2008
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mt Carmel churchMt Carmel churchMt Carmel church

June 19, 12008....I trekked to this chruch on my bday...and finally found it on top of the hill breathless and sweating
Finally, after careful...then careless planning...i arrived in Macau. So before I start with this travel blog, I'd better explain the first sentence first...

Initially the Macau trip was supposed to be done with my brother Miko, as a late birthday present for him (the Disneyland, Hongkong, which is a side trip) and with my father as a father's day present. So I carefully planned the trip, booked the plane ticket in advance and booked a hotel room for the first day in advance. Unfortunately , my father's passp[ort was not released on time so he has to beg off the trip. So there would be just Miko and me...then came the email from cebu pacific that the direct cebu-macau flight was cancelled and we were supposed to fly via manila...cant dragged a child thru all that hassle so in the end I had to fly alone...a birthday trip spent in another strange country ALONE!!!

The plane arrived Macau at 10 Pm after being delayed for more than an hour...never trust CEbu pacific air to arrive on time again! Anyway, I breezed thru immigratrion and customs and hailed a taxi...it was soooo difficult telling the taxi driver where I want
Tree of prosperity showTree of prosperity showTree of prosperity show

at Wynn's...so breathtaking
to be dropped since almost all of them speak zero or very little English, in the end he dropped me at a large hotel Ponte 16, which is a block away from my 3 star hotel, hehehehe....

Macau is a small place packed with lots of interesting, picturesque places. Armed with my trusty map given by the hotel staff I began my day at 6 am of June 15 walking...consulting the map...walking again and finally arrived at the main plaza...the Senado square...by that time I was so thirsty and a little bit hungry...and finally spotting Mc Donalds...I need to fuel myself first before exploring this place to be fully appreciative, and I havent psyched myself yet to be able to buy in the numerous hawkers stall selling strange looking food, though it was part of my plan..to load myself with macanese food. Full and needing to walk too...I explored Senado square


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Gondola ride ...in Venice?Gondola ride ...in Venice?
Gondola ride ...in Venice?

of ciourse not...taken in the Grand canal shoppes, Venetian hotel
my self portraitmy self portrait
my self portrait

taken at the Venetian Hotel with the aid of the timere hehehe
Barra HillBarra Hill
Barra Hill

the colorful Barra Hill where some of thier govt bldg is located, taken while I was at the Mt Carmel Church
Grand LisboaGrand Lisboa
Grand Lisboa

the facade of the Grand Lisboa...I cant help taking this photo...so colorful, so glittering
Fountain showFountain show
Fountain show

at the Wynn's


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb