1st day in Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos
January 7th 2011
Published: January 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

First of all I apologise for the lacklustre look of the blog entry. I cant work out how to do bold or headings on this Laotian keyboard. Anyway the journey has begun, we got into Vientiane around 2100 lastnight. The flight was fairly uneventful and the food was disgraceful (also the 3hr stopover at Bangkok airport was a bitch). I hopefully load up a few photo's. The first thing to strike you as you get into Wattay airport in Laos is how small it is, seriously Port has a bigger airport (maybe not). We went through customs without any issues. We were wondering wheter to declare Amanda's medication but decided to just walk through no one said a word. We split a cab into town with an Aussie guy and were asleep not long after we checked in. The hotel room is a dive.


7th Jan

Our first morning in Laos. We woke up to the beautiful sound of a construction site at around 0600 in the morning. We couldn't get back to sleep and decided to get up and explore. Actually before we did that I did a poo and decided to try out the "Bum washer" I don't know the official name but the sensation was as weird as the name suggest note to self no more bum washer. That started off our 4 hour trek around Vientiane of which 3 hours we were completly lost mainly due to My amazing ability to chose the wrong direction in a 50 50 scenario. We finally forked out 3 bucks for a tuk tuk back to our hotel room. Where I removed my shoes with a sigh and realised me feet were bleeding no joke.
Even though we have tortured our feet it was worth the sacrifice we have love Laos and I can speak the language fluently already and even Amanda can speak a few words. Hello, Thank You etc. The place is amazing relaxed, I have only met one arsehole and I think I was probably at fault. I went to the toilet at the bus shelter and this Loatian guy tried hitting me up for a thousand kip to use the toilet, I ignored him and went in, as I came out he was going ape shit and pointing at a sign on the wall unfourtunately the sign said pay the dosh. I was devestated 1000 Kip is about 12.5 cents. Thank god for the awesome exchange rate at the moment. We are missing you guys already and I will hopefully update soon. I will also try to get some photos happening. Beer Lao is fantastic. The Aussie cricket team blows.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb