Dripping along in 100 degrees


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
June 19th 2010
Published: June 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

well, today is the hottest ever - i was sweating straight after my shower and literally drenched by the time i came downstairs to prepare for my 9.00 am class at 7.30am. This heat is relentless, and makes even typing an effort. I now pay for tuk tuk to work, so i am not a total wet rag - and then cycle home, and collapse into my kimono. I bought the bike from the Dutch couple for a ludicrous $100 , as much as the electric bike, but i think my brain was melting and Jeroen seems to have acquired the Lao rip off technique to perfection - furious at him - and myself!

I find that i am increasingly tetchy and bad tempered , and not really hungry in the day time, and too knackered/lazy to go put at night.
However , i have made an attempt at befriending a rather Bohemian Czech/American girl who studiied at Edinburgh Uni - she is 24, and has acquired a Welsh boyfriend here in Laos who shuttles her around on the back of his motorbike - true love. They both appear to be more interesting than the norm, and unusual in that the chap, Marc, worked in a tiny Thai village for 12,000Baht a month - the going rate is 30,000 , and managed to save by bartering his teaching skills with local shopkeepers. She is from a Bohemian background and i think we already know some people in common.

I still can't swim due to festering wounds from last motorbike crash, and just shower a lot and drip - reading Maggie O Farrell and getting inspired by her easy , yet delectable writing style - and watching DVDs - such is the hectic life of a 51 year old who looks 63 , in Vientiane.
Sadly this country simply doesn't agree with me - or I it. I am too lazy to even write - and wottied about my laptop overheating /

my new tuk tuk driver seems a Khahn type, he has the same shy smile, and is already being quite protective, I would like to visit his village - prefearably with someone, as i don't want to get myself comprimised .

No sign of the ca next door, which w suspect was eaten by the buiders opposite - and looking back at Vietnam days with rose tinted spectacles - it was certainly never this hot!!!!!!

Will watch another DVD and make my pot noodle and have an early night.

Trying to keep healthy in the heat, and spoiling myself - deptite the fact that a hairwash and blow dry lasts allof 3 minutes in this humidity.

Only 2 months to go ...............

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb