Vientiane Makes Us Sick!


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
December 15th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

PatuxaiPatuxaiPatuxai

Vientiane's Arc de Triomphe
I’ve always felt pity for people puking in public, but it sure felt good. I felt a momentary pang of guilt regarding the negative publicity I was unleashing on the café’s terrace, but those potted ferns sang to me of bilious liberation and I didn’t care who saw. Half an hour later, the cool tiles of the bathroom floor felt almost as delicious.

The majority of our time in Vientiane was spent on our backs on an only-in-Asia stiff mattress, holed up and playing host to said nasty stomach virus. Nevertheless, Ely valiantly braved the mean streets to procure our Cambodian visas (he had to return more than once with bills crisp enough to pass inspection), and I was able to get out one day to explore the city by bike. Although Vientiane does possess some mildly mildewed colonial romance, it doesn’t exude charm in any overt way. The Mekong runs along the edge of the city, and while most of the shoreline is monopolized by typical tourist-catering restaurants, all carbon -copy ventures with axe pillow seating and colored lights, there are still some open areas where locals come to park their motorbikes and eat take-out. I watched the sun
Pha That LuangPha That LuangPha That Luang

That Luong stupa, the most important religious monument in Laos, dating from 1566, although it has been sacked and rebuilt many times since then.
sink here on my cycling day, perched on a massive, downed tree, eating Vietnamese fresh rolls.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

a Chinese tourist and Ia Chinese tourist and I
a Chinese tourist and I

They wanted to take my picture, so I reciprocated.
under the bodhi treeunder the bodhi tree
under the bodhi tree

at Pha That Luong
and the cityand the city
and the city

books are precious commodities here- Vientiane's library is about the same size as our town library at home.
nightly free aerobics classesnightly free aerobics classes
nightly free aerobics classes

taught outside next to the Mekong River


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb