Big Buddha park


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Vietianne, 30-03-2008. I took the local bus nr.14 to Big Buddha Park together with a female anorexia patient from England. The locals call this park Xieng Khuan which apperently means "Sprit City" and its grounds are covered with bizarre concrete statue of about any Asian God I know of, apart off course Allah - no representations of Allah are allowed and Allah belongs more to the Arab world anyway.
Plenty of statues of Lord Shiva, Lord Vishnu, Lord Ganesh, the Buddha himself and I even saw Lord arjuna in stone concrete as well as many other deities.
A large pumkin-shaped concrete building of three levels - the levels represent hell, earth and heaven and are conected by a winding staircase. The inside is dank and cool after the hot sun outside and statues, again in stone and concrete, are everywhere thrown around at random it seems to me. I make photos and make sketches in my sketchbook while my new anorexia friend has moved off to the open air restaurant to drink a shit load of local beer.
By the time I'm finished with the Big Buddha Park and join my anorexia friend I find her gone back to Vietianne leaving the table full with empty Beer Lao cans.
I decide to drink a few myself and work a bit more on the sketches I've just made listening to the Karaoke music tha is playing

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb