Vientiane, acutally pronounced WIENG CHAN


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
December 12th 2006
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Vientiane is the romanized version of the city's name given to it by the French. It is a translation of "Sandalwood City".
We have been impressed by the amount of construction going on here. I think the Communist regime is trying to improve things. However, as in Thailand, I am distressed to note very poor working conditions. We've been told that most workers make about $20 a month. I have seen very little protection for workers: no work boots, masks, ear or eye protection, very few helmets. We often see workers using heavy machinery in bare feet. Scaffoldings are made from bamboo; I've heard it's strong, but it sure looks flimsy.
For the average person walking in the streets, look out! Uneven sidewalks, huge unmarked holes that lead down to drainage ditches. I have not seen anyone in a wheelchair, few with canes. I don't imagine they would fare well.
I think in a few years, Vientiane will be a more attractive city (when some of these construction projects get finished!).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb