VT to 4000 islands


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
November 25th 2006
Published: November 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Got my Visa for Cambodia without a hitch which surprised me cos things usually have a bit of a habit of getting difficult and then strangely you wave a few dollars in the air and everything is sorted, but this time hitchless!!

Got the night bus to Pakse which was bitter sweet. I ate a lovely salad for my tea which included a lot of raw onion, which i have to say i ate with gusto thinking it would definitely mean i got a double seat to myself on the bus, after all who would want to sit next to the woman smelling of onion? I also had a frumpy long sleeved blouse on buttoned up to the neck (didn't want to get cold on the bus journey) and a baggy pair of trousers that have seen better days after the demands of trekking and not a stitch of make up. Was practically ready to settle straight down and fall asleep once i got onto the bus.

Got to the bus which for once lived up to its VIP status and price and settled into the best seat, it reclined all the way and noone in front of me so i could put my feet up. Seats were assigned so i just hoped that it wasn't full and i could spread out. Getting my things out my bag a voice asked if he could get to his seat. I looked up and there before me was this adonis god like creature in shorts and a vest!! Oh great, the first good looking person i see and i'm a foul smelling frump ready for bed! Everytime i spoke to him i nearly giggled like a school girl, i mean he was HOT!! So i can honestly say i slept with him but nothing happened. The fact that we only slept beside each other on a bus is an insignificant detail, which would be churlish for anyone to bring up! Ahh memories.

After the 10 hour night bus i arrived in Pakse for around 6am and got another bus (4 hours) and then a boat over to Don Det, one of the few populated islands in the Mekong delta. To say its simple is an understatement. No electricity, no flushing toilets, no hot water! I checked into a hut run by a mad woman, who i'm sure was high the whole time i was there cos she kept showing me pictures from a magazine and laughing her head off-one was a pair of clogs and the other was a drawing of a man with a donkeys head, mildly amusing but this woman was incapacitated for 20 minutes laughing at it.

Anyway had a walk around the island that day and got myself familiar with the road system!! 2 dirt tracks! Spent a miserable night there, went to bed at 7pm cos it was dark and so couldn't read or do anything else and was scared of the bugs that could crawl up through the holes in the floor. Woke in the morning 6am with a load of people getting up to watch the sunrise-yeah right nice if you've not been travelling all night the night before! So at 8am i checked out and went in search of alternative accom. Found a concrete building and that was me settled. That day 5 of us 2 English girls, 1 English lad and an Ozzy hired bikes and rode to the next island and explored there for the day. In all i'd say the 4000 islands are pretty scenic but not the
The fallsThe fallsThe falls

watery ones, not mine!
place for me-too quiet and too basic. I had planned to stay longer but decided to leave a day early. So yesterday i spent 18 hours getting from the islands across the border and into Cambodia. I'm now in Siam Riep and will explore the temples of Angkor Wat tomorrow.

Hope all well at home and you are enjoying the cold weather.

Princess XX



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



26th November 2006

You must be off your bloody head. I will not be surprised if you end up captured by those bloody nutters who see themselves as so called peace makers. If you can't come home get yourself to Australia then I KNOW at least you will be safe. Vietnam or there abouts dear god cannot think of any thing worse.You should of joined the America Army they would of sent you there free of charge. Miss you Mam 2 xx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb