Vang Vieng


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
October 15th 2006
Published: October 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Vientiane was fine for 2 nights, but would not of wanted to stay any longer, picked up my Cambodia visa, apparently the guards get creative if you get it on the border so just got it sorted there, took the easy option of a 'tourist bus' up to Vang Vieng, the big route 13 is sealed, but very slow hilly route, but not unattractive.

Arrived in Vang Vieng, it's very touristy in a backpacker way, but good base for a few activities and relaxing too so I'll camp here for maybe 3 nights before getting up into the real Laos, may not be another entry for a bit, internet getting slower and more expensive

Very much liking the pace and attitude here, and the view from my bedroom window of the craggy hills is to die for. Will put a picture up when I get a fast enough connection.

All in all say I'm entering a very satifying part of the trip, not long to go now.

One gripe, Lonely Planet warns of the 'Friends Phenonmen' in Vang Vieng, and it's true, cafes with zonked out Westerners staring vacantly at re-runs of friends, mind you I think Friends is crap back home so I guess I'm not one to judge, now if they showed 'the office' at these cafes I'd bunk down for the day with a Beer Laos quite happily!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Vang Vieng ViewVang Vieng View
Vang Vieng View

Friend's bar, just round the corner


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb