The Luang Prabang night market.


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
August 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Vang Vieng, late at night. Just As I had planned I have positioned myself on the balcony outside my room enjoying the tranquility of a typical Lao night. a small candle burning to add to the admosphere and a few big Beer Lao for my palate. I can smell the aroma of Lao weed the African Scotsman is smoking outside his hut lying in his hammock. The bloke joined me for dinner together with two finnish beauties I picked up earlier in the restaurant. My mind turns back to Luang Prabang and its low-lit and tranquil night market, a real tourist lure devoid of hard selling by the dozens and dozens of hilltribe traders selling handicrafts and silk scarfs, T-shirts and ceramics, bamboo lamps and blankets, you name it. They build this market up every night. Even though I didn't inject any money in this local market's economy I did drink a cup Of inky black Lao coffee from a coffee stand, mostly because the lady working at the stall was such a charming lady, I really don't fancy Lao coffee even though I'm a real coffee aficionado. The whole market is indeed very photogenic.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb