Luang Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
August 13th 2016
Published: August 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Took a leisurely stroll through the historic heart of Luang Prabang and walked down to the banks of the Mekong. It is still the majestic river it was when I saw it in Cambodia and still very much the same chocolate colour. My first stop was cafe Saffron on the road that runs along the river. Had my first flat white in two months and I can safely say these guys really know their coffee. The beans are sourced from up country and they have a fair trade policy in place which I really like. And did i forget to mention that the gingerbread pancakes were to die for. Definitely a place worth visiting. From there I took a walk toward the end end the Peninsula, Luang Prabang sits on a Peninsula formed by the confluence of the Mekong and Nam Khan rivers. Near the end of the Peninsula sits Wat Xiengthong, built in 1559, it was for centuries the ceremonial gateway to what was once the capital of Laos. It is a very beautiful temple with some stunning tile mosaics. Only a few metres back towards the town centre is Wat Si Boun Heuang, this Wat houses an unrestored temple. Then follows Wat Sene and Wat Nong,Wat kaki Kan and another 20 odd besides. Took a break from Wating and Thating in the afternoon and booked a trip out to an elephant reserve for tomorrow and also booked a boat trip up to Houay Xai for Wednesday . Instead of taking the slow boat I have booked a more upmarket version of it so should be fun. The evening was spent largely window shopping in the night market. I did explore food street and gave the famous buffet a go where you pick what you want and they reheat it for you. I should have known better. Got to bed about 10pm and woke with a chronic pain in the gut about 12. Spent the next few hours throwing up so didn't get a lot of sleep.



DAY 2

Was feeling wretched in the morning but had to drag myself down to the travel agent to move my visit to the Elephant sanctuary back a day, which they did grudgingly. Then picked up a dry baguette which I ate about midday and managed to keep down and slept most of the day. It rained the whole day so I didn't miss much. Rallied about 4pm and took my umbrella for a walk through town and down to the end of the Peninsula to watch the fishermen for a while then called it a day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb