Hemoglobin


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
February 5th 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I donated blood for the first time in my life. I'd always been either "too busy" or just not that inerested in doing this deed. I had seen signs around town that encouraged travelers to donate their blood at teh red cross, so I decided suck it up and take the plunge. It took me three days of trying and going by the red cross but finally today i was accepted with open arms. The lady took my blood pressure 137/72 (Dad is that good?) and then layed me down. Hesitantly I asked her if it was a clean new needle. She giggled smiled and showed me the now unopened package. It actualyl didn't hurt that bad. I braced myelf and before I knew it blood was flowing out of me at about 1pint every 5 minutes. It was a great experience. The ladies talked to me, while we watched a really bad movie with Ben Affleck and Uma Thurman. They even asked if I was 100% single. HAHA...I encourage you all to donate blood in the future. It doesn't hurt. I didn't even see the needle and it's really important especially in third world counties where the cost
Me giving bloodMe giving bloodMe giving blood

She told me I was handsome and asked if I had a gf...
of a pint of blood is around 20-40 dollars, often too expensive for the people to afford...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb