Laos - Kuang Si Waterfall


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 28th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tat Kuang SiTat Kuang SiTat Kuang Si

This beautiful spot is located 32 km south of Luang Prubang, in the mountainous forest.

Serene and Mountainous Laos


"Don't worry, be happy" could be the national motto for Laos. And no wonder, with all of its natural beauty. This is SE Asia's most relaxing destination, and a welcome reprieve from the traffic congestion of the more developed countries.

The official name is "Lao People's Democratic Republic" (PDR). In Laos, the "s" is not pronounced (the spelling comes from the French, who colonized Laos up until 1954).

Dave and I arrived in Luang Prubang, Laos on January 26th. Before I post my photos from the city, I want to show you one of my favorite getaways that we visited about 32 km outside of town. It's called "Tat Kuang Si," a multi-tiered waterfall in the forest ...




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

View in the other directionView in the other direction
View in the other direction

The waterfall is behind me
Rescued sun bears feeding near the entrance to the park Rescued sun bears feeding near the entrance to the park
Rescued sun bears feeding near the entrance to the park

This is an enclosure for Asiatic Black bears that have been rescued from poachers. The volunteers who work there hide their food in various places at feeding time, so the bears have to "forage" for it, like they would in the wild.


5th March 2009

Beautiful!
What an amazing serene place! I love the rope swing and turquoise pools. Thanks for sharing this beautiful spot.
9th March 2009

WOW
I just added that to my 'must see in real life' places. It looks absolutely serene.
9th March 2009

Turquoise Waters or Snow Pellets?
I look ahead & see Laura's tranquil pictures of turqoise waters. When I turn my head, I see snow pellets pounding our neighborhood. I think I'll take another look at those pictures!
8th July 2009

want to visit again
Kuang Si Waterfall is very nice place to see. I love clean water and calm, quiet atmosphere. It's really fantastic natural place and I promise I want to come here again and again.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb